Crunchy Romaine Strawberry Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was a DELICIOUS salad, easily the best part of our meal tonight. The only thing I changed was to use a romaine/spinach mix because I had spinach leftover to use up. I did not find it necessary to add extra salt to the dressing but I did add some black pepper, because I add that to most everything. I will not only make this again, I can't wait to share the recipe with my sister :-) Thanks so much! (P.S. If you're new to cooking nuts or ramen on the stovetop it's worth mentioning that you have to MOVE THEM constantly once you can 'hear' them cooking or else it's going to burn. It also helps to use a high-heat oil instead of butter which is kind of bad for heating stuff for long periods as it has a lower burn point. I like sesame oil but any kind would work really. I did use butter for this recipe but only half success really--some of my ramen was a bit overdone, some underdone. Will use sesame oil next time.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I've been making this for years and it's always a huge hit. It is so easy and so good, and makes you look like a pro chef. I've altered it a number of ways based on what I have in my fridge. At one time or another I've used pecans, green leaf lettuce, balsamic and even white vinegar, no scallions, etc. One time I went without the ramen and while no one else knew better, I definitely missed it. I also always cut the dressing in about half. All in all this is an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I made a huge dinner for my parents tonight, and everyone went back for seconds on the salad. It was so good! Be careful when cooking the noodles and walnuts - they will burn very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This is an excellent salad that I have been making for years. I recommend using apples in place of the strawberries and then adding crumbled feta cheese and craisins-- even non-salad eaters come back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
The flavor was good, however I was not happy about all the butter and the sugar. I think next time I will toast the walnuts in the oven with the noodles to avoid the butter, then cut the sugar in half since the strawberries already provide natural sugars. The texture and taste was excellent though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Wow, is this ever delicious! I loved this salad. I used a baby blend of romaine and spinach. I had trouble with the nuts browning faster than the ramen noodles though and didn't get to cook this as long as stated because I didn't want to burn the nuts. I used nut pieces instead of halves and they tended to stay on the bottom of the skillet beneath the ramen noodles... other than that, this recipe is terrific. You must try this salad, you won't believe how good this is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I make this salad in large quanities for church functions. I use pecans and bake them in the over. I also bake the ramen noodles. I don't use any butter and it is never missed. Instead of strawberries I use fresh broccoli. People love this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this Salad! I maybe used a combo Romaine-Baby Spinach, but otherwise followed the recipe. Making it again tonight with Baby Spinach. It's beautiful and tastes so delish.. I'm keeping it to myself for now, and planning on making it for our Christmas Family gathering -- then I'll share the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I really loved this, and will make it again. Don't forget to season the dressing with S & P! I think it would be equally good with dried cranberries or dried blueberries or a combo. This would also make it more adaptable to other seasons when strawberries are not as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I even used frozen sliced strawberries and it was still great! An uncle said, "I don't usually like salad but LOVE this!!" Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States