Crunchy Pumpkin Pie Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
yum, yum,yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This is very tasty granola! My little siblings were eating straight out of the pan; they love it! One change I made was to substitute canned pumpkin (mixed with 2 tbs. of milk) for the applesauce. I was really looking forward to making this, because it sounds like such a unique and delicious recipe. I was a little disappointed, however, that it really didn't taste a whole lot like pumpkin pie. That is why I am giving it four stars. It is a very easy, healthy, and tasty granola, though. Do not hesitate to try this! Just don't expect it to taste a whole lot like pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Follwed this recipe exactly, crunchy when I made it last night....but softer today....it lost its crunch....flavor is good though...I may even add more cinnamon next time. This is a good recipe and I love the applesauce factor in this vs. oil that most granola recipes call for. I will try this again, add cinnamon and maybe bake at a higher temp. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I may never buy store bought granola again! This is a great recipe & I love how easy it was to make. Instead of regular applesauce, I used the cinnamon stuff because that is what we had. Baked this at 300 degrees on the convection setting for 1 hour & it came out just right. LOVE the flavors!!! Yeah, it doesn't really taste like pumpkin pie, but it is still sooo good. It smells awesome while it is baking too! For my own personal preferance I think next time I will skip on the cranberries & add just up the raisins, but that is just to suite my own personal taste. Thanks bg for such a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Photo by tahoegirl
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
i couldn't stop eating this. this is so easy and i love that it doesn't use any oil -- a healthy granola! will definitely make again. thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tahoegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Wonderful granola! I used 5 grain plus flaxseed whole grain cereal (Bob's Red Mill) & added dried apples and used walnuts instead of pecans. I also turned the oven up to 300 degrees the last 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
One of our favorite granola recipes! I do bake at 300 instead of 250 and stir about every 10 min until lightly browned, then it only takes about 40 minutes or so. One tip I've learned is granola gets crunchier after it cools!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe. Does not taste like pumpkin pie but has that nice pumpkiny spice. I followed the advice of some other reviewers and turned the heat up to 300 for the last 20 minutes. I would not recommend doing this, as the granola came out a little too crunchy. If it doesn't seem crisp enough after 1 hour at 250, I would just let it bake a few minutes longer. Also, I used all craisin's for the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Kaley_Rae
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This was yummolicious!!!!! What didn't get burnt anyways. I also subbed pumpkin puree for applesauce an added 2 TBSL of skim milk to compensate. The pieces that weren't overbaked had a spicey, yummy flavor, mmm. This was my first time making granola, an without oil!!! I'm going to use this as my base from now on. Next time I plan to use maple syrup. THANK YOU so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley_Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I didn't have dried cranberries so I used dried cherries instead. YUMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States