Crunchy Pumpkin Pie Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I was out of applesauce, but had lots of fresh pureed pumpkin, so used that in its place! And, it gave more of a genuine pumpkin flavor to the granola. I was also out of the dried cranberries, so subbed in golden raisins, which worked fine. Good stuff, esp during the Christmas season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Make this!!!! It's a great recipe. I didn't think you could make granola without any oil, so I have to say I was skeptical (I added a couple teaspoons but probably didn't need to). This smells amazing baking, and you can adapt it to taste easily. I added a few tbs of pumpkin puree, my own mix of ginger, cinnamon and nutmeg, and did almonds, craisins, raisins, and chopped apricot plus wheat germ and flax meal. It's really no fail, just make sure you stir it in the oven so it doesn't burn. I'm hoping it stays crunchy b/c some people said that it got soft after a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Thanks for a low-fat granola recipe!! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Excellent recipe! I didn't have regular oats and I ended up using quick-cooking. They didn't get crunchy like the recipe name suggests, but the flavors were awesome! Very good on top of yogurt, very good plain as a snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Did not like this. Followed recipe exactly and it was bland. After baked at 250 for 1 hour it still wasn't crispy (after letting it cool for 3 hours) so I had to put it back in the oven. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavedByGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I actually ended up changing this recipe a bit. I didn't have the proper pumpkin spice mix so I just added cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg. Didn't have pecans, so I used almonds. To make it more like pumpkin pie I used pumpkin puree instead of apple sauce. Found I had to bake it longer than the recipe showed, but it continued to dry after I removed it from the oven. It has excellent pumpkin flavour with the puree in there and the whole family loved it. Will definitely make this time and time again! Don't be afraid to play around with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
It took all of my power to to rate this while I was cooking it. It made my apartment smell sooooo GOOD!! Smell aside, this is a terrific granola recipe. This is the first time I've made granola, so after browsing through all the other recipes I decided to try for this one, since it didn't use oil. SO happy I did! I read the other reviews and decided to compromise with the oven at 275. It took a little longer to cook, 1 hour 15 minutes, but after letting it sit, it became much more crunchy and I decided I may have overcooked it very slightly. I also used walnuts instead of pecans because that's what I had on hand. Added a few dashes of cinnamon as well. Other than that stayed true to the recipe, and so glad I did. While it didn't really taste much like pumpkin pie, the flavors worked so well together, it didn't seem to matter! No more expensive store bought granola for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This was pretty good. I couldn't really taste the pumpkin pie spice, so if I made it again I'd definitely up the spice. It also didn't really clump at all, so it was just loose oats, which I didn't care for. It also burned a little bit. I might make it again, but probably not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I didn't have dried cranberries so I used dried cherries instead. YUMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaley_Rae
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This was yummolicious!!!!! What didn't get burnt anyways. I also subbed pumpkin puree for applesauce an added 2 TBSL of skim milk to compensate. The pieces that weren't overbaked had a spicey, yummy flavor, mmm. This was my first time making granola, an without oil!!! I'm going to use this as my base from now on. Next time I plan to use maple syrup. THANK YOU so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley_Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States