Crunchy Peanut Butter Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
The mixture turned too hard to work with before I could even add all the rice krispies, as the mixture cooled, they became hard as rock and inedible. I came back here to find another recipe that turned out exactly as I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cook4U
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
These taste delicious and look great, however I did not find them to be quick like the recipe states. I made two batches and each ended up taking about an hour from start to finish. I used 2.5 cups of rice krispys per batch and found that if you freeze the balls before dipping they stay together better. I stuck a tooth pick in each ball before freezing and used that to roll it around in the chocolate. Also, I would suggest not melting the chocolate all at once because by the time you get to the bottom of the bowl, the chocolate has hardened and is not easy to work with. This is easily fixed by melting half of the chocolate first and the other half later. These are one of the goodies that I am putting in christmas baskets that I am giving as gifts. Thanks for sharing the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Followed recipe and these came out perfect. I only stuck my "balls" in the freezer for a few minutes before dipping into chocolate. I couldn't wait. Then I stuck back in freezer for a minute or two. PERFECT!!! Making another batch now. Gotta give em out for Christmas this year!!! I would love to get these as a Christmas gift. YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
maybe i just had bad luck, but this recipe did not work at all for me. i ended up putting paraffin wax in the chocolate to get the right consistency. i also wasnt a big fan of using the microwave for melting the chocolate, so i used a double boiler instead. not much about this recipe is easy. i would recommend a different recipe using either chocolate chips and paraffin wax or flavored almond bark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by user

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I made these specifically for a friend that loves peanut butter and chocolate.. my family and I are in love with these little treats and my friend is as well! Very easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Although I am not a big fan of these, I make them for my family and they love them. If you like peanut butter and chocolate this a great choice. The only thing I changed is that I omitted the shortening and it turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Ryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Haymarket, Virginia, USA
Photo by adamAKAweirdo
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Awesome easy and quick recipe that makes you look like a pro. No cooking required, except heating up the chocolate. I made some with milk chocolate and some with white chocolate. To coat each ball, I just plopped them one by one into the melted chocolate and got them out with a spoon. It takes a few times to get the right amount of chocolate on each one upon taking them out. I placed them onto wax paper to reduce sticking. After letting them harden a bit in the freezer, I made designs on each ball by squeezing out the opposite flavor of chocolate from a plastic bag with a corner cut out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adamAKAweirdo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
this is the same recipe that is in the Betty Crocker cookbook. I've used this receipe since my kids were tiny and now my grandkids are eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
These are DELICOUS!! Definitely worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I made these for a bake sale at work and they sold very quickly. I did tweak the recipe a little: I replaced the shortening with butter, added 2 cups of rice krispies instead of 1 1/2, used 20 marshmallows instead of the marshmallow creme, combined pieces of a toblerone bar with chocolate chips and a bit of milk and added chopped peanuts on top. I also put the mixture in the fridge for about 10-15 minutes before making the balls. And I used a measuring spoon (1 tbs) to form the balls (so the bottom was flat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 91-100 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States