Crunchy Oven Fried Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
This is an ok recipe, I've had better baked fish dishes. The bread crumbs and corn meal make a harder crust type shell over the fish, I must say the fish was very moist, but not enough flavor on the fish itself. It is not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
I liked this dish. I did make a couple of changes. I forgot to buy whole eggs at the store so I used Better than eggs (couldn't beat those to be fluffy like egg whites though), fresh basil and instead of crumbs I used ground oats - someone used them all up and didn't inform me. I do think this needed a little kick so I sprinkled a little spicy seasoning on top afterwards. I can't wait to try this with the correct ingrediants next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
I agree, this was a little bland. Overall, pretty good and definitely low fat and healthy. I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
We LOVE tilapia and we have it frequently. I used a little common sense and added some extra seasoning to this recipe(a little garlic powder and seasoned pepper) to our desire. We really enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This is my favorite recipe for Tilapia. I have made it many times, and each time it turns out perfectly. The Tilapia is great surved over a bed of rice with a veggie side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
This recipe wasn't too bad, but I don't think the end product is worth the preparation effort. As others have stated, it's bland and you do need to really kick it up a notch as that famouse Portuguese guy likes to say. If you really need to get your fried fiah fix, this is a decent healthy alternative. Otherwise, there are much better recipes for baking fish out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Wonderful! Very crunchy and moist, and not greasy like fried fish. I love spicy food so I added some cajun seasoning as well as a few other spices. I'll be making it again this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I followed the recipe but added lots of garlic and extra basil, along with some greek seasoning and still found this to be quite bland. There are much better ways to prepare this fish that are healthy and incredibly tasty. Thanks anyway but I won't be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNSHINE6420

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
You have too eat this dish fresh out of the oven. If not the topping gets kinda soft . I added some spices some extra basil.All in All i'd say this was pretty good I'd try it again my family loves fish & there aren't a lot of ways to make fish exciting This is a good recipe to put you own spin on with differernt spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALL4GROV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Yum! I added a bit more salt, and some tuscan herb spice mix (marjoram, basil, bay leaf, etc) to the crumbs, then drizzeled with a teeny bit og olive oil before baking. Came out crispy and flavorful! Tx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States