Crunchy Oven Fried Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This is the first time I have posted a comment about a recipe. I had to modify because I didn't have cornmeal- so I opened a box of Jiffy Corn muffin mix and used that in place of the cornmeal. It was fabulous! It added a slight sweet taste to the fish, but VERY slight. It was crunchy and fork tender. My son thought it was bland, as others have posted, but he likes a zip to it, so he just added some cajun seasoning on his serving at the table. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Excellant strait from pan but hubby was a lil late and it was still warm but soggy. But def good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This fish has that almost fried taste. I added garlic and onion powders to the flour. The bottom browns and crisps up much better than the top, so next time, I will either flip the fish halfway through or spray the top with Pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Used frozen tilapia and not very good fish. Expect that good fresh fillets would make this a four-star prepared per the recipe. Maybe should modify per other reviewers to spice up the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Spray foil with PAM, then after putting prepared fillets on foil spray and then sprinkle with olive oil. Bakes up crispy. I used pancake mix and cornbread mix for ease and put much more seasoning. Really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Healthy alternative to friying. I like mine a little spicy, so I added a dash of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I made this tonight for me and my husband and we both really liked it. I did as others had suggested and added old bay to the fish, the flour and the breading. I also put a cooling rack inside the baking sheet and cooked the fish on that so that both sides got crispy. I did turn the fish about halfway through and did a quick broil the last couple of minutes. This was the closest to fried fish without frying that we have ever had. tks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mia Somerville Honaker
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This was delicious. My family loved it. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia Somerville Honaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
We had this last night and it was the first time i ever really liked fish that was baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Even after doctoring this recipe quite a bit, I still found it bland. I Think the problem is the bread crumbs, makes the texture a bit off and does nothing for the taste. Any ideas for a coating that will be crunchy but have some flavor?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States