Crunchy Lettuce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
There's mixed reviews in my household. My two little ones weren't too impressed especially with the dressing and left some behind. My older son loved it but he likes anything that has bacon in it. My husband was so so on it and wouldn't really care if I made it again or not. As for my self, I liked it but I could probably do without the bacon (I'm probably the only person on earth that doesn't love bacon). I did everything as the recipe ask except for the dressing. I made the dressing with extra virgin olive oil just because the thought of using vegetable oil for salad dressing really grossed me out. Probably won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
This is an easy, flexible salad. I used two small heads of "Artisan" salad (a varied 4-pack) for the lettuce and used turkey bacon (I'm sure the real thing would be even better). For the dressing, I used 1/4 olive oil, 1/4 c brown sugar, 3 T rice vinegar, and the S&P. This is a great salad if you are serving people who don't care for tomatoes or cucumbers. Two of those eating this don't eat dressing and reported that the salad is excellent without the dressing. I plan to add some sliced strawberries and some blueberries to what's left for a different taste tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
The perfect light addition to a spicy meal. My whole family really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
A tasty salad that was fairly quick and easy to make. The dressing tasted 'right', however, it had quite a bit of sugar in it, and wasn't overly exciting. My kids didn't care for the dressing too much. The toasted sesame seeds and almonds were a great addition. If you are using crunchy chow mein noodles, add them at the last minute, and if you think there will be left overs, only add the crispy noodles to what you are going to eat. They can go soggy very quickly with all that dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I make this salad all of the time--my friends and family LOVE it! Instead of 6 slices of bacon, I use the whole 1 lb. package--I also use 2 packages of pre-shredded lettuce instead of shredding my own--much easier. YUMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
WOW! This was such a great summer night dinner! Tasty, easy and quick - that makes for a winner around our house. I didn't have time to let the dressing sit for the full hour but all of the sugar had dissolved and it tasted delicious. Great crunchy, sweet and tangy salad, thanks for the post!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
Love this! Used bagged, pre-washed and torn lettuce and bacon pieces from the pouch for time savers and convenience. Delicious! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Because I wasn't too interested in a 700+ calorie salad, I simply put the lettuce on a plate, and added a little of each of the rest of the ingredients, e.g. one slice of crumbled bacon, a pinch of noodles etc etc. I bet this would be delicious finished off with some 'Hot Bacon Dressing' from this site! Thanks, Teri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
My kids loved this salad. I made half of the recipe for the 4 of us and left out the bacon. Lettuce started to wilt as soon as I tossed with dressing but still tasted great. Added chow mein noodles at the end. Served with "Asian Flank Steak," also from this site. Next time I might add a little sesame oil and/or soy sauce, especially if I'm making it with the Asian steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2005
Excellent salad...can be very portable---mix all except dressing in a big zip bag and put the dressing in a container and serve it at work or family gathering at the last minute- I have added cashews and it works great also---i do roast the sesame seeds and almonds for about 15 minutes in oven--gives a great taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jee jee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Spicy Chicken Lettuce Wraps

See how to make spicy, Asian-inspired chicken wraps.

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Crunchy lettuce wraps are great for a family-style dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States