Crunchy Lettuce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2002
My husband and I LOVE this recipe - great salad! Great for potlucks as it's still good when it's "soggy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
This is a wonderful and easy recipe! I've served it a number of time for guests and have received raving reviews and requests for the recipe. I highly recommend trying this out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Clemens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
I will definitely make this again. This is the first time I have used iceberg lettuce in years and it is the right type for this salad. The only thing I omitted was the almonds, otherwise followed the exact proportions. I added the chow mein noodles after adding and tossing the rest of the ingredients with the dressing. They stayed nice and crunchy that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
Excellent salad...can be very portable---mix all except dressing in a big zip bag and put the dressing in a container and serve it at work or family gathering at the last minute- I have added cashews and it works great also---i do roast the sesame seeds and almonds for about 15 minutes in oven--gives a great taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jee jee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
My kids loved this salad. I made half of the recipe for the 4 of us and left out the bacon. Lettuce started to wilt as soon as I tossed with dressing but still tasted great. Added chow mein noodles at the end. Served with "Asian Flank Steak," also from this site. Next time I might add a little sesame oil and/or soy sauce, especially if I'm making it with the Asian steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Because I wasn't too interested in a 700+ calorie salad, I simply put the lettuce on a plate, and added a little of each of the rest of the ingredients, e.g. one slice of crumbled bacon, a pinch of noodles etc etc. I bet this would be delicious finished off with some 'Hot Bacon Dressing' from this site! Thanks, Teri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
Love this! Used bagged, pre-washed and torn lettuce and bacon pieces from the pouch for time savers and convenience. Delicious! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
WOW! This was such a great summer night dinner! Tasty, easy and quick - that makes for a winner around our house. I didn't have time to let the dressing sit for the full hour but all of the sugar had dissolved and it tasted delicious. Great crunchy, sweet and tangy salad, thanks for the post!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I make this salad all of the time--my friends and family LOVE it! Instead of 6 slices of bacon, I use the whole 1 lb. package--I also use 2 packages of pre-shredded lettuce instead of shredding my own--much easier. YUMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
A tasty salad that was fairly quick and easy to make. The dressing tasted 'right', however, it had quite a bit of sugar in it, and wasn't overly exciting. My kids didn't care for the dressing too much. The toasted sesame seeds and almonds were a great addition. If you are using crunchy chow mein noodles, add them at the last minute, and if you think there will be left overs, only add the crispy noodles to what you are going to eat. They can go soggy very quickly with all that dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Crunchy lettuce wraps are great for a family-style dinner.

Crunchy Coconut and Lime Burgers

What's cooking in South Jersey? The Messy Cook's tropical burgers.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States