Crunchy Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
My family never liked the traditional green bean casserole. They have "texture" issues and the traditional recipe was too mushy for them. This casserole has LOTS of flavor with the bacon and the water chestnuts (I used sliced and mixed them in)added the texture that made this a hit with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Awesome! This is my families new favorite! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colona, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbon Cliff, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Just had them for Thanksgiving dinner. Ok but very bland....needs a little spicing up. Will make again....but add some more flavor. The crunch of the water chestnuts was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMOM2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Simply delicious. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I made this for the holiday and the whole family loved it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
GREAT!!! the water chestnuts were just the ticket. I'll never make different green bean casserole again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Very similar to the classic green bean casserole. I just love the addition of bacon for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Omitted the chestnuts. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeanette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was just ok for us compared with the other stuff we prepared on Thanksgiving. It actually tasted better to me 2 days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummyMummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Wow...I'm so happy this recipe is still on here! I first ran across this recipe a few years ago, and I can not believe it doesn't have more reviews!!!! I made it for Thanksgiving for all of my family, and it was the Biggest hit! Everyone always request that I make it now. It's my favourite green bean casserole, hands down. The bacon and waterchesnuts blend together very well, to make a very unique and tasty casserole.. the only thing I do is add in a white chopped onion, and make sure all the bacon grease is drained, otherwise it tends to be a bit watery. Thank you for one of my most fav recipes that everyone wants a copy of!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States