Crunchy Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Wow...I'm so happy this recipe is still on here! I first ran across this recipe a few years ago, and I can not believe it doesn't have more reviews!!!! I made it for Thanksgiving for all of my family, and it was the Biggest hit! Everyone always request that I make it now. It's my favourite green bean casserole, hands down. The bacon and waterchesnuts blend together very well, to make a very unique and tasty casserole.. the only thing I do is add in a white chopped onion, and make sure all the bacon grease is drained, otherwise it tends to be a bit watery. Thank you for one of my most fav recipes that everyone wants a copy of!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I rated this a 4. It was good but I didn't think it was any better than the traditional green been casserole, but it was a nice change. I fried my bacon until it was nice and crip and drained it well and didn't find that it was greasy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
The water chestnuts in this recipe are a GREAT addition. Everyone loves this dish. I'm always assigned to bring it for potlucks and special occasions. It's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I left out the water chestnuts, and instead of the onions ontop, I subbed cheddar cheese!! Also, I did not let the bacon grease go to waste. I mixed a small spoonful in with the green beans. Wow! this came out unbelievable. Will definitely be making over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Delicious. Used a little less milk. Followed the rest of recipe exactly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sahes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I liked this recipe, I tripled it and brought it for Thanksgiving. I thought it a little bland and needed salt. It tasted even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I sub. cream of celery for cream of mushroom. I'm sure with the mushroom it would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This is the best green bean casserole. I got lots of compliments at Thanksgiving yesterday. Everyone loved the water chestnuts. I made a few tiny changes. I mixed about half the onions into the casserole, added a little more bacon and also crumbled some bacon on the top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Mountlake Terrace, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I really like the water chestnuts and bacon in this, but I'm just not a fan of the traditional cream of mushroom soup with the green beans. I would like to try the rest of the ingredients with some other substitution for the sauce. But thanks a lot for the recipe idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
everyone loved this one during the holidays. The water chestnuts and a nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Best Green Bean Casserole

A shortcut recipe for green bean casserole you'll want to have.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States