Crunchy Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This was okay, but didn't quite make the cut for Christmas dinner. Only about half of them got eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I made the original recipe, but revised it a bit when I doubled it for Thanksgiving. Doubled everything, but limited the milk to 1 cup, only used the 1 8oz can of water chestnuts, and just enough of the French fried onions to scatter over the top. Also reserved a few bacon bits to sprinkle over the top. Cutting back on the proportion of milk made it a bit thicker. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is awesome,but I added a can of cream of celery,used canned milk,and bacon bits.Also,used 1/2 canned and 1/2 fresh green beans and doubled water chestnuts and fried onions.Everyone raved over it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misdmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
My only wish is that I had made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
10 stars! Today I left the recipe out for my husband to make while I worked. He states the only changes he made was to add more bacon (6 strips) and used SMOKY MAPLE bacon. He used fresh cut (or whole cut green beans - not French style). Was awesome!!!!!!! a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
awesome recipe! I did use 2 cans regular cut green beans and one of french cut for it and added a Tbs of ranch dressing powder. Always a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittyhawk15

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
So much better than the same ol' traditional recipe. I used real bacon bits instead of slices of bacon, just to make it a little easier (it was Thanksgiving after all). I will be making this again next year...if not sooner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I made this for Easter dinner. Everyone loved the crunch of the waterchestnuts and the flavor of the bacon with the green beans. This recipe is so much better than the traditional green bean casserole I used to make. Here are the changes I made: a little less milk, used a 5 ounce can of waterchestnuts, added plenty of french fried onions and bacon on the inside and on top of the casserole. Thanks for the easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I used maple bacon and the taste was phenomenal. The trick is to get the bacon SUPER crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Rosario

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, California, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This came out just like my Mom's used to be, when I was growing up. She always used water chestnuts and bacon and that's what makes this casserole stand out! It was just perfect on Thanksgiving with a turkey breast made in the crock pot, cornbread stuffing and garlic mashed potatoes. What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States