Crunchy Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I loved the addition of bacon and water chestnuts. I also added a jar of sliced mushrooms, and put into a crockpot to bring to work as a potluck dish for Thanksgiving. Of course, it did not cook all day, but for just about 2 hours to heat up. I also used frozen beans as I love the color and texture. Thanks for the great recipe! It's fun to change things up a little big once in a while on a traditional dish such as this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I made this one night when we had friends over for dinner and it was so good! I even salvaged the tiny bit of leftovers for lunch the next day. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I made this at Christmas. It was different tasting than the "orginal" G.B. Casserole that everyone makes. You have to really make sure you drain the bacon good. The grease from the bacon tends to make the soup sause somewhat watery. Also, I used frozen beans instead of canned. I would probably make this again at some point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
This traditional side dish is very tasty and easy to throw together. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Sorry- this just "didn't work" for us. At least it was cheap and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
I always use cheddar cheese soup instead of mushroom when i make green bean casserole-so i used cheddar cheese soup and the bacon was a really big hit-something different than same old casserole-will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coffeen, Illinois, USA
Living In: Athens, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
Yummy and soooooo easy to make. Good for weeknight meals and great for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
It's a tasty, easy side dish. I'd make it again, but with frozen green beans. I don't really care for that canned taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
My husband is not a fan of any casserole but would rate this 7 out of 10. I used frozen cut green beans because I have never liked the mushy texture of canned. I also increased the bacon, don't think I should have done that. This recipe was a good twist on the original when you want something different for a holiday but still traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This is ok. I recommend chopping the water chesnuts rather small, otherwise they don't fit very well. They also make it a bit watery in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States