Crunchy Eggplant Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
FABULOUS! If you're a bit intimidated by all the steps, just use a jarred sauce (Mezzetta is very good), but whatever you do, don't skip a step in preparing the eggplant. Especially be sure to use panko bread crumbs as directed. They're a bit bigger and crunchier. Haven't tried freezing because we ate it all! Thanks so much for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammyjammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sylvia
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I changed a few things. I fried my eggplant, first dipping in flour, then egg and then Italian bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Even though it is healthier (not fried) it is still crispy & delicious! Leave plenty of time for prep - quite a bit of work for a week night. I sub'd fresh mozzarella for the shredded Italian cheese. This is a beautiful, brightly colored dish that presents well and The (Meat) King loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzicat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Key Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
So my husband (who "hates" eggplant) was out and I decided to treat my daughter and myself to a dish we rarely eat, and I found this less-fattening version. Wow! I followed exactly except that I already had chopped onions and green peppers, which we use in everything, so sauteed those for the sauce. Amazing. Panko is a great sub for regular breadcrumbs. Son and hubby came home and both LOVED IT! I love that it's not fried. No bad fats, no need for salt except what was in the sauce. Next time I'll use my homemade sauce. So glad to bring eggplant to the whole family! Kudos to Mama Smith!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese Cooks in St. Pete

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Last night was my first time to cook eggplant. It is delicious, even had some this morning for breakfast. This will definitely be a repeat in the family menu plan. Thank you for sharing Mama Smith
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
AWESOME....A bit more work but well worth it. =o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This is an excellent tasty recipe! The way to keep the crunch is to put the prepared eggplant on a baking sheet and just top each slice with a little sauce and the cheese, instead of layering it and smothering it in sauce and cheese. That way the bottom stays crunchy. Try slicing it 1/2 thick instead of 1/4 inch and baking the slices a little longer before putting on the sauce so it cooks all the way through. I put thinly sliced mozzarella cheese on top of the sauce and a nice sprinkling of Asiago cheese to give it more flavor an a little kick. Oh so good! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
The best! And worth the steps, which actually are relaxing to carry out. I just added fresh basil and a few spinach leaves. Great compliments from all. This recipe I'll make again and again. Thanks Mama Smith!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I used prego tomato sauce to reduce cooking time and it turned out amazing!! Will have to make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliebazin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
This is so worth the work of getting the eggplant crispy. I remember my mom's being gushy, for lack of a better term. This is a keeper. Be careful when you broil, it's quick but worth adding this step!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c4christ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States