Crunchy Eggplant Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This is an excellent tasty recipe! The way to keep the crunch is to put the prepared eggplant on a baking sheet and just top each slice with a little sauce and the cheese, instead of layering it and smothering it in sauce and cheese. That way the bottom stays crunchy. Try slicing it 1/2 thick instead of 1/4 inch and baking the slices a little longer before putting on the sauce so it cooks all the way through. I put thinly sliced mozzarella cheese on top of the sauce and a nice sprinkling of Asiago cheese to give it more flavor an a little kick. Oh so good! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This was a delicious take on eggplant parm! I didn't have Italian seasoning so I improvised with rosemary, oregano, thyme,garlic and onion powder. The eggplant held it's shape and I didn't get too soggy. I think the salt "sweating" step is key. I used a jar of Newman's pasta sauce and served it with spaghetti. The eggplant really sucks up the sauce during baking- when I make this again I will use another jar of sauce to serve on the side. This is one my picky son ate without complaint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
At first I thought I would run out of baking sheets with all the slices, but they shrink so it was okay. I layered this with ricotta mixture and marinara sauce just like a lasagna and viola! It is definitely a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
The best! And worth the steps, which actually are relaxing to carry out. I just added fresh basil and a few spinach leaves. Great compliments from all. This recipe I'll make again and again. Thanks Mama Smith!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
So delicious! While I admit the preparation of the eggplant is tedious,it pays off. Not a dish if you're on a time restraint but so worth the extra effort. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Looks yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
My husband loved this. I thought it was a LOT of work and I'm not sure if I'd do it again. The eggplant was nice and crunchy until it was cooked with the sauce, then the crunch was gone. Nice flavor but again, not sure if it was worth all the extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane175
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I added a layer of breaded chicken ad well. So it was chicken and eggplant parmesian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I give it a 4 but my daughter says 5. It was very tasty but I thought a little dry. I halved the recipe, so I think I should have cooked it for less time at the end. I will make again but won't cook as long so the cheese doesn't dry out. My fault so I'll say "try it". Oh, there was one small change, I thought I had Panko bread crumbs but couldn't find them so I used Italian bread crumbs, they were still crispy. Next time I'll be trying the Panko though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Photo by mashellrena
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Mmm Mmm Mmm! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States