Crunchy Eggplant Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Delicious! Added diced fresh tomatoes to the sautéed onions and garlic and simmered while roasting and broiling the eggplant. Made for a chunkier marinara. Everyone in my family loves this recipe! Have shared with many friends who also love!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This recipe could achieve true greatness with a few IMPORTANT adjustments: 1) DO NOT cook the eggplant slices before coating in egg and breadcrumbs. 2) Dip in seasoned flour FIRST as follows: After sweating the eggplant slices, dip in seasoned flour on both sides, and THEN dip in egg, and THEN in breadcrumbs. Continue as directed. Now, the key to any Italian red sauce recipe is the red sauce. You need a solid marinara to make this perfect, not a crummy jarred sauce. You're gonna go through all this work only to smother your delicious, crunchy eggplant with a jar of Ragu??? No way. Master a basic marinara and you can have it ready while the eggplant is sweating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
My family so enjoyed it! I skipped a couple of steps tho..I sliced the eggplant with skins then let them "weep" for 30 minutes with salt. Rinsed, patted dry the slices; coated with Italian panko crumbs and baked til slightly tender (approximately 30 min at 400 degrees). Layered according to the original recipe. Turned out great without the eggplant getting too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Time consuming prep but well worth it. The family loved it, even me - a professed hater of eggplant. Making it again tonight by special request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BandMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This was fairly quick, and extremely tasty. My whole family loved it, including my six year old who is very picky. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeCooksNomNoms

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I enjoyed this recipe a lot! The ingredient that sets it apart from the other recipes is the panko bread crumbs. I tried another recipe which called for Italian Seasoning Bread Crumbs. The texture and taste did not even match this recipe. This recipe is closer to what I am use to when ordering it from a restaurant. It's all in the bread crumbs, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Very good! I liked that it was crunchy. I did it on a weeknight but we were planning on eating later. It was worth the work! I would certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Loved it! This was my first time making eggplant parmesan. One of my husband's favorites. It was some work but it turned out great. Even my 14 year old son loved it, and vegetables have never made it past his lips. My meat and potatoes boys thought it was great. So did the girls. Thank you for a great recipe! P.S. I just used Italian Style Bread Crumbs (What I had) It was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulette118

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This was my first ever eggplant parmesan and this recipe was yummy! This one is a keeper for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States