Crunchy Coconut and Lime Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
My fiance gave this a 4 star rating but I thought it deserved 2 1/2...way too much coconut topping. The burger was moist but I thought all of the coconut (though I love the flavor) dried it out. I thought the cilantro flavor was a bit too much and it needed more lime flavor to it (neither of us tasted it and I put the juice of 2 limes in it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
YUM!!!! We cut down the amount of mayo & still had more than enough =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
The recipe is good but I reduced the mayo down to 1/4 cup. I enjoyed the burger even more by itself with no mayo or bun. You could really taste the flavor then. I think it would be great on a salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMPEREDKERI2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I loved this recipe. Although i'd cut down the clinatro use a little. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
To Wicksy==of course just leave out the cilantro if you don't like it. My suggestion would be not to substitute anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Made these for dinner Tuesday night. These were absolutely the best burgers I have ever eaten! Loved them! Used sweetened coconut(couldn't find unsweetened). Added a little oatmeal to hold them together. Cooked them on the stove in a skillet instead of on the grill. Served on Hawaiian Sweet Rolls. Next time will make double and freeze extras for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I had a tropical themed party and this is one of the items I made. I was worried about the salt content because of the previous review but everybody really liked the burgers and nobody complained about them being too salty (although I did use low sodium soy sauce). I loved the crunchy coconut...yum! I even used som to top pineapple ice cream later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
My husband and I found it much too salty. We made up a batch and just couldn't eat them after trying a few bites. I'd suggest seriously cutting down on the salt if someone was going to try it. My husband and I won't be doing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Very different and good! I used the regular sweetened coconut since I can never find unsweetened. I thought that 1 cup of mayo for 4 burgers seemed like an awful lot, so I decreased the amount to 1/2 cup, and I also increased the amount of cream of coconut mixed with it for more flavor. We loved the sweet crunchy coconut topping! If you don't like coconut, you won't like this recipe, but if you do, go for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Just a few notes: Only use the egg if using a very lean cut of meat like ground sirloin. Also, I use the regular sweetened flaked coconut. Reduce the salt to your taste but don't use less than 1/2 tsp. I always use low sodium soy sauce. If you are looking for extra lime flavor, try adding lime zest. I hope you enjoy the recipe! And my motto is, use my recipe as a base and make it your own:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crunchy Coconut and Lime Burgers

What's cooking in South Jersey? The Messy Cook's tropical burgers.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States