Crunchy Catfish Nuggets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
I've made these several times. The first time I followed the recipe exactly. Good, but need more flavor. I use panko breadcrumbs, 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt, and about 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper. These are much better with the added spices to me. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
A good recipe. Did indeed have some crunch, but not a lot of flavor. Simple, but not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
Fish was very crunchy. Needed a little bit more flavor added to it. Otherwise, a pretty good recipe. If I try it again, I will probably bake it in the oven since I very rarely fry anything in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This was simple, but needed an extra kick of flavor, so I also added cayenne pepper and the juice of a lemon to the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McKeown Schafer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I can get catfish nuggets from my grocery store for like $1.99/ lb. With that being said, I thought these were good! I did change it slightly after hearing the word "bland" more than once. I first dredged the fish in flour that I seasoned with garlic powder and seasoning salt. Then I dipped into the egg substitute that I kicked up with some hot sauce and then into the breadcrumbs (I used seasoned). I thought these had a good flavor and was very happy with the results! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Better than I thought it would be and a lot better than I remember as a kid. I'm not a big catfish fan, but sometimes the budget means going for something cheap. The advise of earlier reviewers to let the nuggets sit a bit before frying really helped. Also, I added a little corn meal to the breading. I may have to try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
THESE WERE A LITTLE BLAND GOING BY THE RECIPE. I ADDED SOME FRESH GARLIC AND A 1/2 TSP OLD BAY TO THE BREAD CRUMBS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Pretty easy recipe to follow. Used seafood seasoning and panko breadcrumbs. Came out very crunchy and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
A great fish recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Good recipe, i read the reviews before trying it and i did add alittle more flavor and it came out good, the adding the Cayenne pepper gave it a good kick , overall a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chenya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Baked Chicken Nuggets

See how to make a tasty appetizer that’s also a real kid-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States