Crunchy Caramel Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
We came home with a free refill of an XL bucket of popcorn from the movies last night. I've made caramel corn using a stove-top recipe and a candy thermometer, but this recipe was so easy. I made 4 batches, one right after the other and it took me less than half an hour. We loved the salty-sweet taste from using the movie theater popcorn & salted nuts. The only change I made was to use a can of salted deluxe mixed nuts I had on hand instead of the peanuts. A few tips... use pot holders, the glass bowls get hot... when you are microwaving the popcorn, stir every 30 seconds... finally, count on making at least a double batch, 6 cups sounds like a lot of popcorn, but it will be gone before you know it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOCOOKIE
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I wasn't expecting much from microwaved caramel corn, but I was very pleasantly surprised. It has just the right amount of coating to cover every piece of popcorn and has an excellent flavor with the perfect amount of salt. It's super fast and easy and the best part is that it cools very quickly. I found that 1/3 cup popcorn kernels and 2T oil makes almost exactly 6 cups popcorn and works just right with this recipe. Thank you for sharing it with us! I'll definitely never make caramel corn in the oven again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This caramel corn is nice and crunchy and not as chewy as some other recipes. Instead of using a large bowl for the popcorn, I used a brown paper bag. It worked great! I just poured the caramel over the popcorn and shook the bag a few times while it cooked in the microwave for 3 minutes. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I was shocked that this really does turn out crunchy.Be careful though this recipe was made in a lower wattage microwave ( I think 850 ) and will burn very easily during the last minute of cooking if made in a high wattage microwave.And don't use a flimsy plastic bowl as this recipe gets really, really hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Was a really great easy recipe. I didn't have any corn syrup so I substituted it with honey and it still turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
SUPER! In my first batch I used dark brown sugar and it came out just like Cracker Jacks. I was so inspired that I tried light brown sugar and slivered almonds in place of the peanuts - the result was a fabulous butter-toffee like corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freedom, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Very good but be very careful cooking the corn with the syrup in the microwave. Stir it every few seconds (~10 seconds). Too long and it will burn. A quick and easy fix for a caramel corn craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This recipe is fast and easy! I used a plastic bowl to melt the caramel mixture in-it didn't get hot like the glass bowl did. It also didn't result in a sticky mess to clean up! I also stired with a plastic spatula. The caramel and popcorn did not stick to the plastic. I didn't have a plastic bowl big enough for the final coating of caramel and popcorn and, yes, the glass bowl got extremely HOT. I will definately buy a large plastic bowl for this step. I used 1 large bag of microwave popcorn per batch of caramel coating. It covered the popcorn perfectly! I ended up making 8 batches of this delicious popcorn to give as holiday treats to my family members. Everyone was delighted with the taste of this recipe. Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Margate, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
My husband asks for this often. I mix it all in a paper bag and shake it instead of stirring. It's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meganleiann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Made this for Christmas 2008. Didn't use any nuts and baked it in the oven for 30 min. like another recipe I tried. It was chewy. Next time will add almonds and microwave or bake it longer to dry it out more. Loved the flavor - like Poppycock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States