Crunchy Apple Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Love this crunchy salad. I have a different dressing that my family loves. Mix 1/2 c. mayo, 1/2 c. sour cream, 1 T. each lemon and orange juice and 2 tsp. sugar. Wisk and pour over salad. Just enough juices to add another layer of flavor. For a "sweeter" version, add 1/2 cup mini marshmellows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
MY HUSBAND HAD BEEN BEGGING ME FOR "WALDORF SALAD", AND HE LOVED IT - ALREADY MADE IT TWICE, SIMPLE AND YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bikerchickie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I altered this recipe a bit based on earlier reviews -- used 1/2c mayo, 1/2c sour cream, OJ, and lemon juice as dressing. Substituted dried cranberries for the raisins and used 2 red delicious and 2 granny smith apples. The granny smith apples with the cranberries and the dressing were a perfect marriage!!! Great base recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Breinigsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
This is an awsome simple, good and healthy recipe. My husband and I both love it. I scaled the recipe down to 4 servings which uses 1 apple. This makes just enough for two healthy servings. It is also good as a healthy snack food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This was so good. I made half a recipe and brought it to work. All gone! I'm going to make the other half tonight. Only thing I did different was sprinkle the apples with lemon juice. This is going to be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: English, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I used dressing from Mayo, Sour Cream, and Condensed Milk. It was great. Next time will add freshly shredded carrot. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Excellent, excellent! I use a reviewer's recommended 1/2 c. mayo, 1/2 c. sour cream, 1 T. each lemon and orange juice and 2 tsp. sugar for the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I didn't have any walnuts, and don't particularly love them anyway, however this recipe was good. I'll add it to my box and be sure to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somerset, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I took this to a potluck where I was assigned to bring a salad for teens and adults. It was good, but nothing exceptional. I think the other reviewer comments to sweeten the sauce would make a little improvement to this recipe. As a personal preference, I would prefer fresh grape halves over the raisins in this recipe, but I think the walnuts made it somewhat interesting to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I used the main ingredients but substituted dried cranberries for the raisins and altered the dressing a little. For the dressing I used a half cup mayo and sour cream and then added two Tbs of sugar and a couple of tsp of lime juice to taste. It blended nicely and gave it a refreshing flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States