Crunchies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
The secret to keeping the bars/cookies from crumbling is to use a small metal spatula to press the oat mixture *firmly* into the pan. The back of a wooden spoon, or rubber spatula, does not work as well. I found one in my daughter's cooking set that was perfect! I like to add 1 cup of raisins or dried cranberries too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
It looks great in the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadezna Walsh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
My batch should have been called Crumblers instead of Crunchers. While I give this 5 stars for flavor I give it 1 star for texture. My bars were extremely dry and fragile. I followed measurements precisely but I used unsweetened coconut which does not seem as moist as sweetened coconut. I also substituted a mix of honey and corn syrup for the golden syrup. Perhaps that affected the moisture as well? Anyway - - it made very yummy crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I baked them for 15 min. and they looked white at the middle so i baked for 10 min more. And this probably made them too dry. Oh another mistake, don't put more than 1 cup coconut flake coz that'll be too much! I had 1 1/2 cup so i didn't know what to do with the rest 1/2 cup so i put altogether and i think...it's not good. so i think next time i will bake them in an 9*13 pan and not take out from the oven since 15 min..let's see how they will turn out. but they still taste good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I like my anzac biscuits to be softer, so tried this out. Unsure if I measured wrong, but the mixture seemed too dry, so my over zealous boy friend decided to add too much water. They still turned out great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This is a very easy, tasty bar. Not a lot to it. Be careful not to overbake. I used a 9x13 pan and the bars are quite thin. I didn't have golden syrup, so I used white syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
This was great, not only crunchy, but tasty too. Recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2001
These bar cookies were extremely simple to make, very fast, and quite delicious. Buttery goodness in every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha Eibert

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2000
This recipe is great, I love Anzac Biscuits but I like them when they are not so hard... Which is hard to master normally. This recipe is perfact and everyone loved them (I'll never take them to work again though!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States