Crunch Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Very good. I followed suggestions and doubled the amount of butter and brown sugar. This was too much. Next time I will try 3/4 cup butter and 3/4 cup brown sugar. Also use a cookie sheet that won't buckle while baking because it will move your crackers all over the place and underneath each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This was the most popular treat out of all the things I made this holiday season. Everyone just loved them and they disappeared as fast as I could make them. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arizona City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
These are really great and very easy to make. I used choc chips and chopped pecans. My family loved them. They are a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ladyviola
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
These are great and the toffee just makes it just perfect. I used chocolate chips and pecans instead of walnuts. Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyviola

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I agree that the butter and the light brown sugar should be increased to a cup each to make enough toffee mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cresson, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This was wonderful however after trying it the first time I realized that there wasn't enough of the toffee topping so increased the amount by 1/2 the next time and they were terrific. I also found that if I separated them before they hardened I was able to maintain the nice neat square shape. Everyone raved about this recipe and asked for copies so it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
We call this "Magic Toffee Brittle". The recipe has been around forever, but it seems like a lot of people have never heard of it. I get requests for this every Christmas and always get asked for the recipe at parties. It is SOOO easy it is almost embarrassing to tell people how to make it after watching them trying to figure out what is in it. I make 2 changes - use club crackers (about 40 covers the bottom of a large rimmed cookie sheet) instead of saltines for more richness and use chopped pecans on the top. Be sure and cook long enough in the oven or they will be chewy instead of crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I was hesitant about these at first, but I thought I'd try them because of their rating. They did not disappoint! Very easy, and very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This is a recipe I used to make about 20 years ago, when I was 13. I LOVED IT, and was sad when I lost it. Nobody else knew what I was talking about when I asked about a saltine/toffee dessert. Well I am GLAD to see it again, and will teach my 13 year old how to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Wow. Super simple, fast, and REALLY good! They are so light and crispy that you don't realize how rich and sinful they are! I used chopped peanuts because I don't like walnuts....YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States