Crunch Bar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Well, I LOVE this recipe. I did have to make some changes in the proportions though, which is why I didn't rate it 5 stars. It takes at least 1.5 sleeves (6+ oz) of saltines to fill up that pan size. Definitely use foil and spray it liberally with non-stick spray. To get the appropriate coverage, you HAVE to use 1.5 cups butter and 1.5 cups brown sugar. I've tried it with less, and you end up with crackers with very little toffee on them. I used a whole bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips and probably 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips, and also found that a little over a cup of finely chopped nuts was perfect. I can't imagine using more. So yes, I changed the proportions on everything....and the end result is perfection, in my mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHMO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I make this recipe every year and while it's simple and delicious, here are a few precautions: 1. Line the tray with foil to make it easier to remove the toffee 2. Don't use those chocolate chips that have been sitting around opened for months! They will not melt as well as ones that are "fresh" out of the bag! 3. Up proportions to 1.5butter:1.5sugar to make sure all crackers are properly covered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I make these on a regular basis, but call them 'Skor Bars'. These are always a huge hit. One thing that is not mentioned is that your pan MUST be sprayed/greased very well, or else it all sticks. I always use the unsalted crackers and milk choco chips (gives it more of a choco bar taste), and on occasion will use the peanut butter chips, but they don't melt as well...But still taste great!!! Put into the freezer as soon as the chocolate is spread. Speeds up the breaking and tasting process. Can be kept frozen for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
For starters, this taste wonderful. My whole family enjoyed the taste. I did change a few things after reading all the reviews though. I lined my pan with no-stick foil, it stuck. That was the first time EVER that I had anything stick to no-stick foil. Next time, and I will be making it again, I will use the no-stick foil and I will be spraying it with Pam first. I also used Club crackers instead of Saltines. I just thought being a "toffee" taste, Club would work better. I also increased the sugar and butter by 1/2 cup each like some suggested. Well, maybe it needed to cook a little longer because of that? There are parts of it that are pretty sticky even after spending all day and night in the fridge. I think next time I will stick with the original 1 cup of each and see how that works. Also, I didn't have any problems getting the chopped pecans (I'm not a walnut fan) to stick to the top. I used milk chocolate chips and only had to let them sit for a couple of minutes before I easily spread them over the top. Then after I sprinkled the chopped pecans over the top, I just used my hand to press the pecans down into the chocolate a little, worked just fine. Over all this is a great recipe and it has a wonderful taste. I will be trying it again with Club crackers, milk chocolate and pecans, but I will be sticking to the original 1 cup each of butter and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inked Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Wow...my husband loves toffee and he loved this. I had a box of crackers that had been crunched so I sprinkled broken crackers over the pan instead of using whole ones. It worked great. Don't use parchment because the toffee part can go under and then you have paper in your candy. Really great and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEGT2865

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
This is an awesome quick and EASY treat to make anytime!! Everyone who tried them asked for the recipe. I will probably make a little more of the brown sugar/butter mixture(1/2 cup extra of both) to put over the top so it's more evenly covered next time. I use 1 1/2 sleeves of crackers too. Also put them in the fridge for an hour before breaking them apart. I used crushed pecans instead of walnuts. Thank you for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
This is fabulous!!! It is so easy to make, and people can't believe what the ingredients are. I melted the butter and sugar in the microwave, and I omitted the nuts, but sprinkled on little colorful Christmas trees. It was a huge hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
These are good but I think I'll add 1/2 c. of sugar and butter next time, or else use a smaller pan. We left the crackers whole and cut them out into squares and dipped in chocolate. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I could not believe how super easy this recipe is. I enjoy making candy from scratch and when I saw this recipe, thought I'd give it a try. Wow...yummy! I used pecans on the top. For those that do not want most of their nuts to fall off the top, once the stove top cooking is done (of the toffee mixture) stir in half of your chopped nuts at this point prior to pouring on the crackers and bake it up including them. Save the remainder for topping the chocolate. It's not very heart smart, but my tongue and family sure are happy! Will try it again with almonds and see if it tastes like almond roca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palos Verdes Peninsula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
This is too good that you'll want to eat the whole thing yourself ! I made only a couple of changes. Instead of using nuts, I used Rice Krispies (blending them in at the same time as I added the chips). [I used krispies since I wanted my 2 year old to have some.] Next time I'll make a batch with nuts too (as I think it would be less sweet with the nuts on them). I also used light brown sugar instead of regular (not sure what the difference would have been, but that's what I had). I also used Smart Balance 50/50 butter instead of regular butter and it tasted great and possibly a little less fattening. Any suggestions from anyone to make these less sweet? [I also sprayed the pan with Pam and didn't bother with the aluminum]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Clone of a Cranberry Bliss Bar

Bliss out on these sweet holiday treats—they're just like the real deal.

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States