Crunch Bar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This was an easy dessert and we had all of the ingredients on hand, but it was not quite the flavor we were hoping for. I think I was hoping for something more like almond roca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
mmmmmmm...very yummy and easy. We put ours in the freezer, which made them taste extra good. Keep in mind, though, that these don't last a super long time. The saltine flavor will eventually come through and they may get a little soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
For starters, this taste wonderful. My whole family enjoyed the taste. I did change a few things after reading all the reviews though. I lined my pan with no-stick foil, it stuck. That was the first time EVER that I had anything stick to no-stick foil. Next time, and I will be making it again, I will use the no-stick foil and I will be spraying it with Pam first. I also used Club crackers instead of Saltines. I just thought being a "toffee" taste, Club would work better. I also increased the sugar and butter by 1/2 cup each like some suggested. Well, maybe it needed to cook a little longer because of that? There are parts of it that are pretty sticky even after spending all day and night in the fridge. I think next time I will stick with the original 1 cup of each and see how that works. Also, I didn't have any problems getting the chopped pecans (I'm not a walnut fan) to stick to the top. I used milk chocolate chips and only had to let them sit for a couple of minutes before I easily spread them over the top. Then after I sprinkled the chopped pecans over the top, I just used my hand to press the pecans down into the chocolate a little, worked just fine. Over all this is a great recipe and it has a wonderful taste. I will be trying it again with Club crackers, milk chocolate and pecans, but I will be sticking to the original 1 cup each of butter and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inked Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Port Clinton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
A friend gave me these with the recipe at Christmas many years ago. Very easy. Very tasty! Just leaving a note to point out that Nabisco now makes Preminum MINIS original saltine crackers which make this recipe even easier! The recipe instruction state "finely chopped" walnuts. Finely chopped is very important when using the new minis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
These are good but I think I'll add 1/2 c. of sugar and butter next time, or else use a smaller pan. We left the crackers whole and cut them out into squares and dipped in chocolate. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Couldn't be easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
excellent recipe!! so simple yet lip-licking delicious! my kids LOVED it! a must try for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Decadent! This candy is absolutely delicious and very easy to make. Yes, it looks a bit odd when you are preparing it (mainly the saltines "floating" in a mixture of brown sugar and melted butter), but the end result is well worth it. I used pecans because that is what I had on hand, and I may cut the nuts back to 1-1/2 cups next time. My husband and I both agreed that there definitely will be a next time for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I could not believe how super easy this recipe is. I enjoy making candy from scratch and when I saw this recipe, thought I'd give it a try. Wow...yummy! I used pecans on the top. For those that do not want most of their nuts to fall off the top, once the stove top cooking is done (of the toffee mixture) stir in half of your chopped nuts at this point prior to pouring on the crackers and bake it up including them. Save the remainder for topping the chocolate. It's not very heart smart, but my tongue and family sure are happy! Will try it again with almonds and see if it tastes like almond roca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palos Verdes Peninsula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Clone of a Cranberry Bliss Bar

Bliss out on these sweet holiday treats—they're just like the real deal.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States