Crunch Bar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Quick, easy and everything was in-house, can't beat that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This is absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This is delicious and addictive. I make it on a regular basis and it is always popular among friends and family once they try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stella_illuminata

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
This is too good that you'll want to eat the whole thing yourself ! I made only a couple of changes. Instead of using nuts, I used Rice Krispies (blending them in at the same time as I added the chips). [I used krispies since I wanted my 2 year old to have some.] Next time I'll make a batch with nuts too (as I think it would be less sweet with the nuts on them). I also used light brown sugar instead of regular (not sure what the difference would have been, but that's what I had). I also used Smart Balance 50/50 butter instead of regular butter and it tasted great and possibly a little less fattening. Any suggestions from anyone to make these less sweet? [I also sprayed the pan with Pam and didn't bother with the aluminum]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I use Matzoh crackers and call this passover toffee, or Matzoh-toffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is one of my favorite desserts and I lost the recipe I had for it. Luckily, I found this! I really recommend using a smaller pan as opposed to uping the ingredients, simply because its more economical that way and you may already have everything you need on hand. One sleeve of crackers lining the pan and then all the proportions given (I used a few less nuts than recommended) filled the pan perfectly. I also sprayed Pam on my spatula before spreading the chocolate. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, New York, USA
Living In: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I absolutely love these and they are quick and easy to make. Spray the pan as other users suggested!! I also use milk chocolate chips, white chocolate chips, toffee pieces (heath bar crunch) and sliced almonds. This recipe has made me one popular mommy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMommy101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Had to use gluten-free crackers--they are very thin and increasing the recipe to 1.5 cups of butter/sugar was a bad idea. I have used the recipe as described and still am having trouble with consistency. It seems simple and they are very good. Any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeachBabe Gluten Free

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanatoga, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This recipe is to die for! Everyone I shared it with adored it, and thought I was a kitchen goddess for making it! I'll be making it again soon. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Well, I LOVE this recipe. I did have to make some changes in the proportions though, which is why I didn't rate it 5 stars. It takes at least 1.5 sleeves (6+ oz) of saltines to fill up that pan size. Definitely use foil and spray it liberally with non-stick spray. To get the appropriate coverage, you HAVE to use 1.5 cups butter and 1.5 cups brown sugar. I've tried it with less, and you end up with crackers with very little toffee on them. I used a whole bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips and probably 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips, and also found that a little over a cup of finely chopped nuts was perfect. I can't imagine using more. So yes, I changed the proportions on everything....and the end result is perfection, in my mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHMO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Clone of a Cranberry Bliss Bar

Bliss out on these sweet holiday treats—they're just like the real deal.

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States