Crunch Bar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I could not believe how super easy this recipe is. I enjoy making candy from scratch and when I saw this recipe, thought I'd give it a try. Wow...yummy! I used pecans on the top. For those that do not want most of their nuts to fall off the top, once the stove top cooking is done (of the toffee mixture) stir in half of your chopped nuts at this point prior to pouring on the crackers and bake it up including them. Save the remainder for topping the chocolate. It's not very heart smart, but my tongue and family sure are happy! Will try it again with almonds and see if it tastes like almond roca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palos Verdes Peninsula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
These are spectacular, and so easy! I made two batches and gave them away as Christmas gifts. Everyone was so shocked that I 'slaved' in the kitchen to make toffee. :-p I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by littlecook93
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I was so happy with this recipe. I made it for a Christmas party and it was a huge hit! I LOVED it. It was SO easy to make, it took about 15 minutes, and it was fun. Everyone raved! Thanks for this scrumptious crunch bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlecook93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Living In: Johnson Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I make this recipe every year and while it's simple and delicious, here are a few precautions: 1. Line the tray with foil to make it easier to remove the toffee 2. Don't use those chocolate chips that have been sitting around opened for months! They will not melt as well as ones that are "fresh" out of the bag! 3. Up proportions to 1.5butter:1.5sugar to make sure all crackers are properly covered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
These are very simple and always get rave reviews. My husband's favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I had bars like these a long time ago and wanted to find the recipe. They didn't stick to the foil, and were very easy to make. There was no butter in the house, so I used margarine which worked out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary  Callan
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Way easy and fast! Yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary  Callan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I make these on a regular basis, but call them 'Skor Bars'. These are always a huge hit. One thing that is not mentioned is that your pan MUST be sprayed/greased very well, or else it all sticks. I always use the unsalted crackers and milk choco chips (gives it more of a choco bar taste), and on occasion will use the peanut butter chips, but they don't melt as well...But still taste great!!! Put into the freezer as soon as the chocolate is spread. Speeds up the breaking and tasting process. Can be kept frozen for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
DANGEROUSLY fabulous!! Thanks for the great post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Bar Peeps®

A sweet and tart Easter treat.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Clone of a Cranberry Bliss Bar

Bliss out on these sweet holiday treats—they're just like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States