Crumbed Avocado Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I felt that 2 eggs plus 3 egg yolks was a waste. So, instead of dipping the steak into a beaten "whole" egg, I used the three egg whites from the three egg yolks. Worked fine! I didn't have Dijon mustard, used Spicy Brown, it worked. I would love to try it with Dijon. This recipe is good, but a bit of a pain to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I thought this turned out really well, however, I do agree with other reviewers that it would benefit from a stronger mustard sauce. My bf doesn't eat avocados and wouldn't touch the sauce, so I made his with bernaise sauce (from a dry mix) and he said it was really good with the steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This was quite good. The only thing I would do differently would be to add more, or stronger mustard. My husband thought it was Hollandaise! Very tasty though, nice combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I liked this recipe however no one else in my family did. I think it was the egg. The presentation was not at all pretty and I think that also made everyone "think" it was not good and I like to pride myself on being a good cook. Maybe I will try again but without the egg?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I am a great cook and I did not like this at all. Leave out the egg and it might be better. Needs more flavor so I added sauteed garlic and seasoning salt. Everything besides the egg was fine. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
what can I say about it besides - so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kearny, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
I had sirloin, so I pounded it out...a different cut of meat would have worked better. The flavor was amazing though..I loved the sauce with the avacados. I'll make this again with a better cut of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by futureBLU
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
Turned out very well! I am a chef by no means, but decided to give it a shot... fairly easy to make and had most of the ingredients on-hand already. Polished it off with a bottle of smooth Italian wine... NICE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
i couldn't find scotch file steaks, so i used 'round eye' steaks... It was good. I made more sauce, because amount in the recipe was not enough for 4 steaks. The sause was great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klaipeda, Klaipedos Apskritis, Lithuania
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: May 31, 2005
It's a shame the steaks I used were so chewy - the mustard sauce paired with the avocado was absolutely delicious! The only problem I had was that the sauce was a little bit lumpy. It didn't make any difference to the taste, of course, but the presentation wasn't as good as it could have been. I would definitely make it again though. Thanks, Thomas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States