Crumb Topping for Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I did not care for this recipe. There is way too much sugar and flour and too little butter. I'm looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
My first time ever making crumb topping from scratch and it was so easy, and so tasty. The pie I used it on was the Buttery Cranberry Pie recipe on this site. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was a very good topping for my peach pie. I used half of the recipe on my pie and will use the other half soon. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This was very easy to make, it tasted great on the apple I made from this site
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Here's another rave review for this recipe! I made this for the "German Apple Cake I" that is also found on this site and turned out great! The only thing I did was that I quartered the recipe because I didn't need so much. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This was an ok crumb topping. I think for the pie I made a nut crumb topping would have been better. I made Apple Pie by Grandma Ople (from this site) and I made a wonderful crust called Best Pie Crust Ever (from this site) and the crust does hold up to its name. Thanks for the crumb topping recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyLisa
Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
perfect topping made our apple pie look picture perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This is a very good recipe you can use it for so many other recipes. I used it on top of an Apple Pie instead of a standard crust top. It baked up really nice and was crunchy and made my pie look beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlesex, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
the topping got higher praise than the pie. (which, BTW, was made from peak-season, local peaches)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
THIS WAS PERFECT FOR MY APPLE CHERRY PIE.WENT GREAT WITH THE NO SUGAR FILLING ADDED THE RIGHT AMOUNT OF SWEETNESS :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

How to Cut-in Butter

Cut butter into flour to create flaky layers in pie crust and biscuits.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States