Crumb Topping for Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I used some wafer cookie crumbs in place of some of the flour and thought it turned out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
quick awesome topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I loved this!! I did add a couple of dashes of cinnamon. I mixed the sugar, flour, and cinnamon together, then added cubed butter. I mashed the butter cubes into the flour mixture with my hands, then put the mixture in the freezer for 30- 60 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cstovall

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
OMGOSH!! Awesome and soooooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I like this topping well enough, but found it way too much for a single pie. (I put it on a Mrs. Smith's frozen Cherry Pie) I halved all three ingredients. I tried mixing the cold diced butter into the brown sugar/flour mixture by hand with a fork as suggested in the recipe, but it wouldn't combine. After softening the butter (in the bowl with the brown sugar & flour) for 20 secs in the microwave, it combined just fine, using a a hand mixer. Tastes really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinLovin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
EVERYONE LOVED THIS. Thank you so much for this recipe. I threw it in the food processor and got it done in a minute. So easy and really was delicious. Would highly recommend and is basically fool proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I made this topping separately for a topless blueberry pie, and then spooned it onto the filled pie. It was very good! I would add a little cinnamon to give it a little extra flair. I got rave reviews from everyone who tried my pie, but I think it would be even better baked onto the top of a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
great recipe and makes my pies even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Very easy and so delicious! I use this on the canned apple pie filling recipe on this site. I have had rave reviews from everyone I make it for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I've used this recipe before making a sugar free cherry crumb pie before. I used a store bought pie crust with sugar free cherry pie filling. To make the crumb topping I used a brown sugar subsitute that you can find anywhere. My mom absolutley loved it. She was so excited to be able to eat a pie during the holiday's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Pie Pro

These tips and tricks will make you a pie pro, the envy of family and friends!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States