Crumb-Topped Strawberry Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This is amazing! Love, Love, Love it! I made the crust as directed and it came out great, but I am sure you could use a store-bought refrigerated crust if you want to save time and hassle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I didn't make the crumb part, I ended up just doing a tradional double crust pie, but did I ever get rave reviews! The combination & balance of rhubard & strawberry was perfect! It wasn't too sweet, nor was it too tart. Thanks for a great recipe. I look forward to trying the crumb part next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
My 75 year old father said this pie was as good anything he has eaten from a professional bakery! Delicious, easy pie. Great to make when rhubarb is in season here in MA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Super great pie! The crumb topping is the best! I wouldn't change anything!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
JessWaka...Your recipe turned out amazing. I thought everything you said with the measurements turned out perfect...I love copying a recipe and it turning out delicious. I personally think if this dish was in a baking contest it would take top three places.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
A-MA-ZING. So good. Cut the sugar in the filling to about 1 cup, which was plenty, and I used about 1/2 c. pecans because that's what I had, and it was great. I used brown sugar instead of white in the topping and cut it down just a bit, maybe by about a quarter, and since I had room in the pan I just went for it and put it all on even though reviewers said it was quite a bit even when cut down. But who doesn't love crumb topping, right?? It was lovely, I wouldn't do it any other way. The cinnamon, nutmeg, and pecans add such a nice, rich flavor to the rhubarb and strawberries. I am going to make this again VERY soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This pie was incredible and very easy to make. I too found that I had extra topping so didnt use it all. I also used more strawberries and rhubard than the recipe called for bc i love a very full pie. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This was so good! Others wrote that it was too sweet, but I didn't think so. I can't wait to make it again. Oh, and I only made half of the crumb topping, but I'm sure it could be good with more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Greybull, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This was my first attempt at cooking with rhubarb and it turned out delicious. The modifications I made were...1 c. of rhubarb and 3 c. of frozen strawberries, a prepared pie crust, about 1/2 of the crumb topping, 1 c. of sugar in the filling, heaped my 1/3 c. of flour in the filling, and added a pinch of salt. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I had fresh picked strawberries and rhubarb, home made pie crust, followed the recipe exactly except the home made pie crust. I put all the topping on, which was a mistake, I'd cut it back by at least 1/3. The filling could use a little more flour so it doesn't run when you cut a piece. Overall result it tasted more like a tart cherry pie than strawberry rhubarb to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WARREN4

Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States