Crumb-Topped Strawberry Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This was my first attempt at cooking with rhubarb and it turned out delicious. The modifications I made were...1 c. of rhubarb and 3 c. of frozen strawberries, a prepared pie crust, about 1/2 of the crumb topping, 1 c. of sugar in the filling, heaped my 1/3 c. of flour in the filling, and added a pinch of salt. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This was so good! Others wrote that it was too sweet, but I didn't think so. I can't wait to make it again. Oh, and I only made half of the crumb topping, but I'm sure it could be good with more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Greybull, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This pie was incredible and very easy to make. I too found that I had extra topping so didnt use it all. I also used more strawberries and rhubard than the recipe called for bc i love a very full pie. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
A-MA-ZING. So good. Cut the sugar in the filling to about 1 cup, which was plenty, and I used about 1/2 c. pecans because that's what I had, and it was great. I used brown sugar instead of white in the topping and cut it down just a bit, maybe by about a quarter, and since I had room in the pan I just went for it and put it all on even though reviewers said it was quite a bit even when cut down. But who doesn't love crumb topping, right?? It was lovely, I wouldn't do it any other way. The cinnamon, nutmeg, and pecans add such a nice, rich flavor to the rhubarb and strawberries. I am going to make this again VERY soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
JessWaka...Your recipe turned out amazing. I thought everything you said with the measurements turned out perfect...I love copying a recipe and it turning out delicious. I personally think if this dish was in a baking contest it would take top three places.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Super great pie! The crumb topping is the best! I wouldn't change anything!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
My 75 year old father said this pie was as good anything he has eaten from a professional bakery! Delicious, easy pie. Great to make when rhubarb is in season here in MA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I didn't make the crumb part, I ended up just doing a tradional double crust pie, but did I ever get rave reviews! The combination & balance of rhubard & strawberry was perfect! It wasn't too sweet, nor was it too tart. Thanks for a great recipe. I look forward to trying the crumb part next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This is amazing! Love, Love, Love it! I made the crust as directed and it came out great, but I am sure you could use a store-bought refrigerated crust if you want to save time and hassle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Most are saying they used their own crust recipe, I love this one, all I changed was I added some oats to the crumb topping and I needed some extra strawberries and rhubarb to fill my pie plate, it was gone within a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States