Crumb-Topped Strawberry Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This pie was delicious and not difficult to make at all. I did cheat and use a frozen deep dish pie crust as I was short of time. The filling was more than adequate to fill the pie and the crumb topping did not all fit on. Next time, I would cut down a bit on the sugar in the filling, but there are no other changes I would make. The cinnamon and nutmeg are nice in the filling. Put the pie on a cookie or abking sheet, as the filling drips out a bit. I would definitely make this again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
My husband said this was probably the best pie he had ever had. I will use this one many times in the future. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary980
Living In: Equinunk, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
this was really good, used my own pie crust recipe, and used frozen strawberries from last years garden and my husband said it was one of the best pies I've made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This was a great recipe. I did cut the sugar in the filling down to just under a cup, and could almost cut it to 3/4 of a cup, for my taste. I also cut down on the topping, as another reviewer said it made too much. Even after cutting it by about 1/4, I still ended up with about twice as much as I actually used, so I am saving the rest for future use on muffins or something. I also omitted the pecans as I didn't have any, and really don't like them much anyway. I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I had fresh picked strawberries and rhubarb, home made pie crust, followed the recipe exactly except the home made pie crust. I put all the topping on, which was a mistake, I'd cut it back by at least 1/3. The filling could use a little more flour so it doesn't run when you cut a piece. Overall result it tasted more like a tart cherry pie than strawberry rhubarb to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WARREN4
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This was my first attempt at cooking with rhubarb and it turned out delicious. The modifications I made were...1 c. of rhubarb and 3 c. of frozen strawberries, a prepared pie crust, about 1/2 of the crumb topping, 1 c. of sugar in the filling, heaped my 1/3 c. of flour in the filling, and added a pinch of salt. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This was so good! Others wrote that it was too sweet, but I didn't think so. I can't wait to make it again. Oh, and I only made half of the crumb topping, but I'm sure it could be good with more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Greybull, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This pie was incredible and very easy to make. I too found that I had extra topping so didnt use it all. I also used more strawberries and rhubard than the recipe called for bc i love a very full pie. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
A-MA-ZING. So good. Cut the sugar in the filling to about 1 cup, which was plenty, and I used about 1/2 c. pecans because that's what I had, and it was great. I used brown sugar instead of white in the topping and cut it down just a bit, maybe by about a quarter, and since I had room in the pan I just went for it and put it all on even though reviewers said it was quite a bit even when cut down. But who doesn't love crumb topping, right?? It was lovely, I wouldn't do it any other way. The cinnamon, nutmeg, and pecans add such a nice, rich flavor to the rhubarb and strawberries. I am going to make this again VERY soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
JessWaka...Your recipe turned out amazing. I thought everything you said with the measurements turned out perfect...I love copying a recipe and it turning out delicious. I personally think if this dish was in a baking contest it would take top three places.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States