Crumb-Topped Strawberry Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Definitely delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and found, as others have, that there was too much crumb topping mixture and the filling was pretty runny when sliced. Easily fixed, and will make this recipe again with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Excellent recipe. I substituted raspberries for the strawberries and it was just as good. Used the crust recipe too and it also turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Easy and quick. This looked too simple to be true. When I made the topping I thought this would never work. Results: Delicious--great flavor and the topping, the best ever. One of the best pies I have eaten and it surely surpasses any commercial or restaurant pie. This is a very adaptable recipe for any fresh fruit-- go slow on the sugar depending on the sweetness of the fruit used. CAUTION: use a baking sheet under the pie pan while baking and don't eat the entire pie in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
everyone at dinner tonight loved it - even my 5 yr old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Absolutely wonderful! I have made strawberry rhubarb pies, in the past, which were a bit runny...this recipe made for a perfect consistency. My rhubarb was quite tart, so the sugar amount was just right. I did have a little trouble rolling out the pastry but, in the end, it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I resisted all urges to use my standard crust, to lattice the top, to omit the nutmeg, or to skip foiling the edges, and made it just as written (except for the pecans, which I just didn't have on hand). It was PERFECT. This is probably the best possible recipe for this type of pie. I'm making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEYRAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oro Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gdiune
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Yummy and easy recipe! Used pre-made pie crust and took advice of others to reduce the sugar in filling to about 1 cup, which was still plenty sweet. Might use even less, maybe 3/4 cup, next time. Also, cut the crumb topping in half and it was the perfect amount. Very happy with the results and it was very quick and easy to make! Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gdiune

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This was fabulous!!!! -Maureen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Reagan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Use double the fruit or at least3/4 for my bigger pie dish! Good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Most are saying they used their own crust recipe, I love this one, all I changed was I added some oats to the crumb topping and I needed some extra strawberries and rhubarb to fill my pie plate, it was gone within a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States