Crumb Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Maybe I shouldn't have done this here but didn't want to go buy buttermilk so instead I soured regular milk with lemon, accordingly. The texture came out more like a sponge cake than a crumb cake. The topping looked almost raw even though the cake itself was completely done. I just don't quite get it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
With the addition of brown sugar to crumb mixture plus 1 more egg as suggested by another review, I love this cake. Not sure if I should give it 4 stars because I did alter the recipe. So good it is gobbled up quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2-4

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
My daughter loved it. Very fragrant but to me it was more of a spice cake. I just wanted a crumb cake but didnt feel that this was what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This was a very good coffee cake; nice and moist and flavorful. I didn't have buttermilk, so I used a standard substitution (a tablespoon of white vinegar, with milk added to total one cup liquid) which worked fine. My son had to be restrained from eating the whole thing. My husband liked it a lot, too. My daughter and I prefer a more buttery, firm cake with a more cinnamon-y topping. That's just a matter of personal preference, though--the cake as is is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Love, love this cake - I never use anything but butter. Can t go wrong here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mle_16_01
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
my whole family loved this cake, it was moist and yummy. it was gone by the next morning!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Telford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by keri marion
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
very moist and delicious. i exchanged cloves for allspice and added to the crumb topping about 2tbs shredded coconut and maybe a scant tbs of brown sugar. truly delightful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keri marion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Not your traditional New York style crumb cake. But the cloves definitely give it a very unique taste that is pretty satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
A wonderful easy tastee crumb cake. Goes very well with a fresh ground bold cup of coffee. I like lots of nummy topping, I added half again the butter and sugars on top. Will be a once a month treat, at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

How to Prep Cake Pans

Watch how to properly prepare a cake pan in two easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States