Crumb Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
The "cake" part was good, however, the crumb topping needs much improvement. More butter is needed (which I melted instead of crumbled) and I used light brown sugar instead of the white. Be sure to add the cinnamon to taste. (we enjoy a lot more) Also a nice sprinkling of confectioners sugar over the top once it's cooled adds a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This cake is delicious. After reading the one review about not enough crumbs, I kept out an extra 1/4 cup for crumbs. It is moist and am proud to say after 40+ years I finally have a perfect Crumb Cake Recipe!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2001
The cake part was too much with not enough crumbs. However slight adjustments would produce a great crumb cake. The cake portion was moist and flavorful. My husband loved it with the adjustments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
I was not impressed with this crumb cake at all. This is not your typical idea of a crumb cake. It was more like a Shortbread, cake. Although it was tasty, I couldn't bring myself to not add cinnamon - which was how this recipe was written. I would also take up the advice of other reviewers and double the amount of crumb mixture, as 1/2 cup was not nearly enough. Overall, I would say this cake could be used as a good base, with different toppings and the like, but not an excellent crumb case in iteself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Other reviewers are correct when they say this cake does not taste or have the texture of a crumb cake. Crumb cakes are nearly always made with buttermilk and baking soda. If you can find a similar recipe and make the adjustments I think you will find a huge difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2000
pretty good, but it didn't taste much like the crumb cakes i'd had before. i made this for a party in my 12th grade english class once we finished our huge research paper. definately no complaints from that crowd (or the teacher).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
Moist and delicious, we think that it would be a great cake recipe for any ocasion, topping it with your favorite frosting or topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chelsea, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
Thia crumb cake is very moist and most of all if you would add a cup of choclate chips mmmmmmmmm very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This was a great cake! I did make a lot of changes though, not many were necessary, just a matter of I didnt have the right ingredients. I used 3 cups self-rising flour instead of all-purpose and omitted the baking power. Self rising flour contains 1 1/2 tsps baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt per cup, so I also thought about omitting an egg.....and it worked! I only had 2 eggs on hand so I splashed sommore milk in there. I used another tsp of butter with the shortening that I added only to the crumbs. I also added a little cinomman/ sugar mixture to the crumb and a little less to the cake. I only added enough for a hint of flavor to tie it all together, do not make cinomman the main flavor. Overall, great and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This was ok. The batter was really runny and the crumb topping just sunk into the cake. It did have good flavor, but I like more of a crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States