Crumb Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2000
pretty good, but it didn't taste much like the crumb cakes i'd had before. i made this for a party in my 12th grade english class once we finished our huge research paper. definately no complaints from that crowd (or the teacher).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2001
The cake part was too much with not enough crumbs. However slight adjustments would produce a great crumb cake. The cake portion was moist and flavorful. My husband loved it with the adjustments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
Thia crumb cake is very moist and most of all if you would add a cup of choclate chips mmmmmmmmm very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
Moist and delicious, we think that it would be a great cake recipe for any ocasion, topping it with your favorite frosting or topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Kwiatkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chelsea, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
The "cake" part was good, however, the crumb topping needs much improvement. More butter is needed (which I melted instead of crumbled) and I used light brown sugar instead of the white. Be sure to add the cinnamon to taste. (we enjoy a lot more) Also a nice sprinkling of confectioners sugar over the top once it's cooled adds a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
I was not impressed with this crumb cake at all. This is not your typical idea of a crumb cake. It was more like a Shortbread, cake. Although it was tasty, I couldn't bring myself to not add cinnamon - which was how this recipe was written. I would also take up the advice of other reviewers and double the amount of crumb mixture, as 1/2 cup was not nearly enough. Overall, I would say this cake could be used as a good base, with different toppings and the like, but not an excellent crumb case in iteself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This was ok. The batter was really runny and the crumb topping just sunk into the cake. It did have good flavor, but I like more of a crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This cake is delicious. After reading the one review about not enough crumbs, I kept out an extra 1/4 cup for crumbs. It is moist and am proud to say after 40+ years I finally have a perfect Crumb Cake Recipe!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This was a great cake! I did make a lot of changes though, not many were necessary, just a matter of I didnt have the right ingredients. I used 3 cups self-rising flour instead of all-purpose and omitted the baking power. Self rising flour contains 1 1/2 tsps baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt per cup, so I also thought about omitting an egg.....and it worked! I only had 2 eggs on hand so I splashed sommore milk in there. I used another tsp of butter with the shortening that I added only to the crumbs. I also added a little cinomman/ sugar mixture to the crumb and a little less to the cake. I only added enough for a hint of flavor to tie it all together, do not make cinomman the main flavor. Overall, great and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Other reviewers are correct when they say this cake does not taste or have the texture of a crumb cake. Crumb cakes are nearly always made with buttermilk and baking soda. If you can find a similar recipe and make the adjustments I think you will find a huge difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States