Crumb Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I took the advice of some others and baked this pie at 400 degrees for 35 minutes, then added the topping for the last 10 minutes. It is more like an apple crisp than an apple pie, but really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Almost two cups of sugar on top of a few apples?! If you like the taste of apples in your apple pie, this recipe requires a few changes. Too much sugar and too heavy on the spices for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This pie filling was terrific. I sliced the apples super thin so that they were very soft after cooking. I also added a couple tsp. of flour to the mixture as some suggested. I used dark brown sugar in the crumb topping which made it ugly, so next time I would use light brown. I will also go a little lighter on the amount of topping because it was a little too sweet for my taste. But, overall it was really good and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This is my first failed pie! I was SO sad! I followed all the suggestions including adding flour to the apple mixture but I still had a TON of liquid pouring out of this baked pie. The spice was WAY too much. Cut back on that cinnamon. It was so bad I don't even think I'll try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin4Six!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Birch Bay, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This pie is a hit every time I've made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving, and I will second what others have said on it. It should be baked at 400. Even then, the crust and topping does seem to get very dark, but not enough to ruin the flovor and taste of the pie. This pie is very good. I t is rich and sweet. I used 6 apples. The pie was very full initially, but don't worry, it settles down as it cooks. One of my favorite apple pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hubbardston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
It was really good... but whoa cinnamon! I decreased the cinnamon to about 1/2 Tbsp in the apple mixture, and only 1 tsp in the crumb topping, and it was still very cinnamon-y. I liked it, as did everybody at Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Made this yesterday and thought it was excellent. I did cut down on the sugar though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This was so good I did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELDOE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Vernonia, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
My family really enjoyed this Apple crumb pie! I did do 2 things different and that was after I baked the pie for 35 mins I then added the Crumb topping and baked it till it was golden and Yummy!! Also I baked it at 400 instead of the 425! This is going to be a Keeper! Thanks for the Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States