Crumb Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was OK. I cut down the spice as a reviewer indicated. It was still a bit too sweet and the spice overpowered the natural sweetness of the apples. The topping was very good. I think next time I will cut the spice to 1/4 and see how that comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This was one of the less enjoyable apple pie recipes I've tried. There is WAY too much sugar and spices. It also could use some butter and flour to make the filling a better consistency. The temperature is too high and not long enough to cook the apples thoroughly. The crumb topping will burn if not covered until the last 15 minutes of baking. The only thing good about this recipe is the crumb topping is delicious. Do yourself a favor, stick with Grandma Ople's recipe, and use the crumb topping from this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This wasn't awful but it was way too sweet. I didn't even use all the sugar it called for and it was just to much with the crumb topping. I like the crumb topping but that's all. I probably won't make this again with all the good recipes on here I'll find another recipe with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estero, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I wanted to try something different, and this sure was. I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guilderland, New York, USA
Living In: Rotterdam, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
My familly loved this recipe even my husband who is not a huge fan of apple pie loved it! I did notice that after 10 min. of baking that the crumb topping was starting to burn. I covered the entire pie with aluminum foil and cooked an additional 35 min. The crumb topping stayed intact and did not turn to goo like other reviewers reported.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Delicious recipe, but watch out on the cooking time (all ovens are different and the top of our pie got a little burnt) and also how many apples are put in the dish (we got a little too much water from the apples). Overall, very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This one is always a hit. I use several kinds of apples, usually red delicious, green, and gala. The different flavors each apple brings helps bring out the spices in the pie. I also add about 1/2t. of nutmeg and a bit more cinnamon to boost the spice. The pie is especially good the next day after chilling in the refrigerator. And the crumb top really adds an enjoyable texture to an already great pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Dorado Hills, California, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
This was very easy to make and smells fantastic while baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: New Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
i do not have the best luck with pie recipes, so maybe the problem is me and not the recipe... BUT i made three of them to give to my boyfriend's coworkers for thanksgiving and they looked DISGUSTING! they tasted okay... a little bland if you ask me. i would keep looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HANNAMFROST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I took the advice of some others and baked this pie at 400 degrees for 35 minutes, then added the topping for the last 10 minutes. It is more like an apple crisp than an apple pie, but really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States