Crumb Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Too much cinnamon for my taste - and I even cut back on it by half. Also, the "crumb" part for me was not crumbly enough, just tasted like more cinnamon - which I do like, but this was too much. It's best with ice cream or whipped cream...to mask all the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Love it simple and delicious....perfect combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I made this today with some fall apples I picked up at the farm..so I kinda adjusted the recipe to what I know to like in my usual apple pies but added the topping to my pie. The topping was REALLY good..I added some chopped pecans and it was so much better than I was expecting! My crust suffered a terrible fate as I was making the pie, so I trashed it and just made it crustless- more like an apple crisp. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This recipe was a good reference for my apple pie. I used Gala apples, sugar in the raw (not the full amount of sugar asked for, a bit less), 2 Pillsbury roll out dough in 2 store bought pie dishes, squeezed lemon juice on apple mixture, a gluten free all purpose flour (it has more texture than normal flour) and earth balance butter. The secret for the perfect consistency was to place the dough in the pie pans, placing the apple mixture in, covering, and letting it sit in the fridge over night. The following day I poured some of the water content out, added the crumb topping on both pies, and followed the cooking instructions. It was by far, the BEST apple pie I ever made and my friends we're greedy and went for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoseTheConfused

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I also add tablespoons of flour to the filling mixture which I then combine with the apples prior to placing in the pie crust. I would suggest doubling the topping for more of a crusty top, for a more appealing look. Love it I will be making it again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
My changes include: 2 tablespoons of flour to apple filling. For the topping, I half the flour and add half rolled oats PLUS I add 1/4 cup of very chopped pecans. I also bake it at 350 for 60 minutes. Less burnt topping that way! ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This is a good pie loved the crumble thought it was a little sweet. When I make again will use less sugar. Other than that everone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
My family raved over this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauseon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
The crumb topping is to die for delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Everyone said this was the best apple pie they have ever tasted. Used the same recipe (without the crust) for apple crisp on New Years. It disappeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States