Croutons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I was just gifted a loaf of artisan sourdough bread and knew we would never eat it all, especially since Hubs is not a big fan of sourdough anyway. Simply turning it into bread crumbs was an option, but with Thanksgiving on my mind croutons became an inspirational option. Besides, with bread crumbs I was limited - with croutons I still had the grind-them-into-crumbs option. Hubs also doesn't care for croutons on his salad (I could go on and on...) so I knew if I sized them smaller, like the packaged stuffing croutons, I'd have a good and fresher use for them - for stuffed pork chops or chicken, crushed for meatloaf, or as a coating for meat, poultry or fish before baking or frying. I did use the optional garlic salt and wish I hadn't. The croutons were just a tad saltier than I would prefer and will limit me when I mix them up with anything else. I need to remember that no additional salt will be necessary! I also added some poultry seasoning and dried parsley flakes, tho' the seasonings you could use are limited only by your imagination. I packaged these in freezer bags so I expect they'll stay fresh a good, long while. There are no words adequate to express the good, fresh taste of these compared to the hard and stale taste of the commercial croutons. They're a little bit of monkeying around, especially if you make them small as I did. But I'll tell you what - I found myself nibbling on these and I just can't see myself doing that with the packaged stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I had half a loaf of rosemary garlic bread that I did not want to go to waste...thankfully I found this recipe, they made THE BEST croutons! I used olive oil instead of butter and some fresh ground pepper. What a versatile recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
The best croutons I've ever had. Very crunchy and I enjoy experimenting with the spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I like this recipe. A great tip is to use a pizza cutter for things like this. Actually, pizza cutters are great for kids to cut up their own food. I used texas toast, butter, onion and garlic powdre, salt and italilian seasoning. Delish !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jane Livengood
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
these turned out great, love making my own! Dark coated baking sheet made them really crispy. I added some italian seasoning on one batch and fresh ground black pepper on another batch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Livengood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I used whole wheat bread and butter flavored cooking spray. Using garlic salt made it too salty so I used garlic powder sprinkled on 1 side of the bread. Then I had tasty, low calorie breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Very easy to make and tasty. I sliced them up into larger pieces and my kids ate them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I used this as a jumping off place. Used leftover gluten free sandwich bread, including the end pieces. Cut into cubes first, drizzled with avocado oil, then salt, cracked pepper, and dried thyme. Toasted for about 5 minutes at 410, while toasting my bread for today's sandwich, then 8 minutes longer at 350. They were still a bit soft inside, so I put them back in the oven while it cooled off and left them there for another 30. The thyme smells heavenly in the kitchen and will lend a strong flavor to tomorrow's salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I used the empty bread bag and added the cubed bread. I drizzled the cubes with olive oil, then sprinkled with onion salt, garlic salt, orgegano and marjoram. With the bag puffed with air, I twisted the end and shook it all. Spread on a baking sheet - 300 degrees for 20 minutes. Hint: go easy on the salts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This was super easy. I had some sour dough bread and it made great croutons. I found I needed to cook them for another 5 minutes for them to be the right crunchiness. I went very light on the garlic salt, and I sprinkled on some dried parsley just for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Croutons

Watch Chef John make simple homemade croutons for salads and soups.

Croutons

See how to make simple, inexpensive homemade croutons.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States