Croutons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2000
This recipe was a great find. The croutons are just like the "homemade" ones in fancy restaurants, except you can season them to your own taste. It's a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2000
Instead of buttering the bread directly, I poured melted butter over the sliced bread and mixed it well. It worked out great. Didn't take a lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2001
This was very helpful to me - a good basic recipe that I can enjoy experimenting with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
Wonderful! I will always make my own now--it's so easy! Mine were done at 10 minutes, though, so watch them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
I'm glad to see other people make their own croutons! They are so easy and quick to make and are great to jazz up a salad. I toss cubes of bread in olive oil and freshly crushed garlic and sprinkle with a little grated parmesan before cooking ... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
I used about 7/8 pieces of stale wheat bread. Cut off the crusts first and then I cut the bread into squares. Then I dumped the pieces into a bowl and poured melted butter over it. Tossed it until it was well coated. Set the bread onto a cookie sheet and then sprinkled three packets of parmesan/romano blend cheese powder from the local pizza place on top of it. I also sprinkled a good helping of garlic powder onto the bread as well. Cooked them longer than I needed to because I love croutons crispy and a tad burnt. They tasted amazing, the best I've ever had (and I'm a huge crouton fan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELAYA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I enjoyed these with a whole wheat bread and just a touch of seasoned salt for extra kick. Actually had eaten half of them alone before I was ready to use them in the dish I had planned for them. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
Yummy yummy yummy yummy! My bread wasn't quite stale, but it still worked wonderfully! After brushing with the melted butter and cubing, I tossed them with oregano, garlic powder, and parmesan cheese. I could eat these as a snack! Thanks for the easy great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
Instead of tossing some stale hamburger buns, I decided to turn them into croutons. I knew they would be easy to make but rarely have taken the time. It is so easy to just log on to All Recipes and get a quick recipe and all the advice that goes with other reviews. Thank you for providing this service. Good croutons by the way and no more wasted bread. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
perfect!!! My boyfriend loved them, I didnt have garlic salt so i added 1 tsp salt to the melted butter before i brushed it on and then sprinkled the cubes with garlic powder. YUM will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Croutons

Watch Chef John make simple homemade croutons for salads and soups.

Croutons

See how to make simple, inexpensive homemade croutons.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States