Croutons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2005
A great way to use up bread that's past its prime! I like to use a lower oven temp so that the bread is crisp and dry all the way through before it starts to get too brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
448 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
I've been making these for years, and my kids looooove them. Using french or italian bread, a garlic-salt mixture with parsley in it, and a butter-flavored cooking spray (rather than the butter) gives them a top-level restaurant taste. I also like to use ranch-dressing dry mix in lieu of the garlic salt at times--you can also use garlic powder with salted cheddar popcorn topping--the possibilities are endless!----One of my kids' fave all-time snacks are actually borne of the "crouton" premise: Called "Crustinos", you make them by slicing basic french or italian bread into approx. 1/2 inch thick slices, then spraying the slices with butter-flavored cooking spray, adding your seasoning atop, and baking at 200 degrees until they are light golden and crispy. So much better for everyone than chips--and they keep for a week or more in a sealed bag (although I cannot keep any in my house more than 24 hours--the kids eat them up fast). When you have a salad or soup,(or even need bread crumbs for a coating) take a few and break them up. Quick, easy, and a great way to use up extra leftover bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
301 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celiac_family_mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
These were better than restaurant style croutons!! The only changes I made was I cut the bread into cubes first, than put them in a container with the melted butter, than I added garlic and onion salt, put the lid on and shook it all up, then dumped it on to a baking sheet. There were great!! Even my husband and 4 year old couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
254 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oromocto, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
I used Pam Butter spray on one batch and Pam garlic spray on another - then seasonings of my choice. The spray cuts down on the calories and keeps them crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2000
Instead of buttering the bread directly, I poured melted butter over the sliced bread and mixed it well. It worked out great. Didn't take a lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
I'm glad to see other people make their own croutons! They are so easy and quick to make and are great to jazz up a salad. I toss cubes of bread in olive oil and freshly crushed garlic and sprinkle with a little grated parmesan before cooking ... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
Wonderful! I will always make my own now--it's so easy! Mine were done at 10 minutes, though, so watch them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Easy recipe for garlic croutons. I used day-old bread, which made even crispier croutons. Used them in a casserole and it worked out great for me. EDITED: You can make this to suit any kind of salad or recipe you need it for. I like to use homemade seasoning mixes to season these croutons, anything from italian seasoning to cajun seasoning. If you cool them and throw them in your food processor and grind them down, you instantly have homemade breadcrumbs that are excellent in meat loaf or meat balls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
Great recipe...only thing that I do differently when I make this is to add some garlic to it. It is great to take a whole clove and rub it on the bread when it comes out of the oven. The hot bread just melts the garlic clove and it is delicious. Thanks for a recipe that helps with that stale, left-over bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2001
This was very helpful to me - a good basic recipe that I can enjoy experimenting with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Croutons

Watch Chef John make simple homemade croutons for salads and soups.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Croutons

See how to make simple, inexpensive homemade croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States