Croutons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Good and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAYLA207

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This is really good, but even better IMHO with a few changes. I cube the bread first and put it all into a big mixing bowl. Then I melt the butter in the microwave and stir in the garlic salt - I also add 1 tsp of crushed Italian seasoning to this mixture. I find that mixing the butter with the seasonings first helps it go on more evenly. Then drizzle over the bread cubes and toss until evenly coated. Spread on the pan and bake as directed, stirring occasionally. These are so yummy I can hardy keep myself from just snacking on them fresh out of the oven. P.S. if you crush the croutons later, they make a DELICIOUS breadcrumb coating for chicken etc.!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
These were good, but the powdered seasoning makes it taste a bit artificial to me. Straight butter without the seasoning might be better. I also did a batch with more olive oil than butter with very difference taste results (obviously), but still the same good crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Very good croutons. I like crispier croutons than this recipe allows, so I baked longer than stated. I baked at 350 for 15 minutes, then stirred them and baked another 10 minutes. This resulted in the perfect crispiness for me. I, too, just poured the butter over already cut bread cubes and mixed with garlic powder and a bit of salt (no garlic salt in this house). Turned out great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Easy and delicious. I didn't use garlic salt, but I added chopped fresh garlic, onion powder, and seasoning salt. I also halved the butter and added equal amount of olive oil. With these, who needs lettuce for a salad?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Right now (November) bags of bread bits are sold for less than $2 at your local grocery store. They are sold as stuffing bread but I used one of those bags to make croutons. The bread is already cut up, it's really cheap, and makes a lot of croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caressa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Perfect for snacks or soup. I originally made them with soup and ended up eating most of them before putting them on my soup-yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENPEN006

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by erindelight
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Perfect croutons. They are great for salads but even better for snacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erindelight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Wonderful, and much scope for creativity. This is a keeper; I won't be buying store-bought croutons anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Easy and delicious. Melted the butter first and sprinkled some dry ranch dressing mix (suggested by another reviewer... thanks!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Corte Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Croutons

Watch Chef John make simple homemade croutons for salads and soups.

Croutons

See how to make simple, inexpensive homemade croutons.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States