Croutons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! I melted butter in a container, added cubes, and shook! I used garlic powder and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
great croutons!! way better than store bought! i only made a few small changes: melted the butter, added italian spices (maybe 1 tsp?) and garlic salt (about 3/4 tsp) to the butter, then tossed with the bread cubes. it didn't look like enough butter/spices, so i melted an additional 1/8 cup of butter and added more spices & salt. tossed again. then arranged as evenly as possible on a GREASED cookie sheet, cooked at 235 for 30 min, then let them stay in the warm oven for 10 more minutes. they are so crunchy, but not at all hard, if that makes sense... my husband and kids LOVED these, will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Very good! I used spray butter and sprayed and seasoned before I cut the bread up (used a ulu knife which made it very easy to slice!). Lowered temp to 325. Excellent, enjoyed on a salad. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Very nice! Used Rye bread as I was putting them in a Russian Green Bean and Potato Soup (on this site). Sprinkled with a little garlic powder and sage.Used a storage bag, put the cubes in and poured the melted margarine in. Shook the bag and dumped them onto the cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Awesome and so easy! I used olive oil and Italian seasoning and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen82383

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
these are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
great and easy. leftover sourdough and italian, cubed it. put it in a tuperware and poured melted butter in. shake real good. put on baking sheet and sprinkle garlic salt over it. didn't have butter spray. good with soups
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I used this idea for stale biscuits that I made over the weekend. I sliced them in half and then cubed them. Heated a skillet and added 4 tablespoons butter and grated 4 cloves of fresh garlic into the butter. Added salt and pepper. Spread the cubes on a tray and then drizzled the butter over and baked for 15 min. Turned out awesome! Normally would of went with garlic powder but was out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy_S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I would say that this is a great recipe. What a way to use what would be tossed away. I did change a few things as suggested by other members. I kept the crust on, increased the butter to little less than half a cup, added garlic salt and oregano to the melted butter. I placed the bread into the butter and mixed it together that way. I lowered the heat to 315 for about 25 minutes or so stir occasionally. My 8 year old loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandra Stephen Palmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
These were good but using the "brush on" method as directed didn't leave enough butter for all 15 slices of bread-I only got thru 1/2. I decided to just stick w/the half. Good but we prefer "garlic croutons" on AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Croutons

Watch Chef John make simple homemade croutons for salads and soups.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Croutons

See how to make simple, inexpensive homemade croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States