Croutons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I've been making these for years! They are great when you don't want your bread to waste, but it's not quite sandwich material. I just use a soft spreadable butter, like country crock, and then I form mine into balls so they are a bit chewy in the middle. That's just me though! Love them either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPIFFYTIF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Used a whole french baguette for this recipe. I used half for croutons and the smashed up the other half for seasoned bread crumbs. Stored in ziplock bags. This was eassy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
So easy and much better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I thought that the garlic salt was too salty so the next time, I'll use a half of tsp. of garlic salt instead of 2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I love garlic but there was Way too much garlic salt in this. I even used more butter & some grated Parmesan Romano cheese. 1 tsp garlic would have been more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Great, simple, but certainly need to season in some way... garlic.... parsley... something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Glen Truesdel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
So easy and simple to make. I can't believe I haven't done this before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adrian784

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Haslett, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I couldn't find any store bought croutons without phosphates so I wanted to try making my own. SO EASY!!! I did like another reviewer said and melted butter in the bowl, sprinkled a little garlic salt in there, then tossed in the bread cubes and shook them up with the lid on. GREAT!! I didn't cut off the crusts. I used leftover bread heels as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamraarruda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Irwin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Great basic recipe and very easy. I used very dense bakery wheat bread cut up into cubes with crust and placed in large bowl. I melted 1/2 cup butter, poured over bread crumbs and tossed. I also added Kirkland's (Costco) Rustic Tuscany Seasoning to taste. Baked as recipe said and....yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FARMERSQUEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This was the first time my own croutons. They were wonderful. My son especially liked them. He ate most of them before I could get a salad (cobb) made. I think I am going to make anoter, bigger batch right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Croutons

Watch Chef John make simple homemade croutons for salads and soups.

Croutons

See how to make simple, inexpensive homemade croutons.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States