Croutons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by erindelight
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Perfect croutons. They are great for salads but even better for snacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erindelight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Wonderful, and much scope for creativity. This is a keeper; I won't be buying store-bought croutons anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Easy and delicious. Melted the butter first and sprinkled some dry ranch dressing mix (suggested by another reviewer... thanks!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Corte Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Oh so yummy! Very easy and very good. I used left over Challah (egg bread) bread. They were crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Awesome basic recipe that you can doctor up if you wish, or just keep it simple. I used olive oil instead of butter to be a tiny bit more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I took the basic concept of this recipe and ran with it. So much better (and cheaper) than store-bought croutons. Plus I like that you can create a bunch of different flavor combos with just a little creativity. I'll never throw stale bread away again! I seasoned mine with parmesan cheese, fresh ground pepper, garlic powder, and italian herbs. My husband and I ate more by the handful than we did on our salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Delicious! I used a loaf of Costco's Fresh Garlic Bread and half butter/half olive oil; cubed the bread and put it in a large bowl; drizzled butter and olive oil on top and gently tossed with a spatula. After they were spread out on cookie sheet, I sprinkled grated parmesan cheese. We snacked on them - they never made it to the salad or gazpacho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Wow! I used my own creativity with these and they are knock outs! And like others have said they are spectacular out of the oven. Still slightly chewy and warm and flavorful. Yuuuuummmie! I threw them in a bowl with some hunks of mozzarella and fresh tomatoes and basil and had me a brushetta salad! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmydeshon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I used whole wheat bread and experimented with the crusts. Honestly, they're just as good with crusts on--I can't tell the difference in taste. I also included some basil and Parmesan to taste. Excellent recipe--I had to use a lot of self control not to eat the entire batch right out of the oven. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Easy, and worked well with a low-carb/high-fiber bread. Will make this again. I seasoned with an All-Purpose seasoning instead of the garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Croutons

Watch Chef John make simple homemade croutons for salads and soups.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Croutons

See how to make simple, inexpensive homemade croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States