Croutons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
This is the best, easiest way to make your own croutons. I use it for leftover homemade bread, so I usually have to cube it in advance. We make an artisan loaf that has a fair number of holes throughout. So since it's easier, I melt a little butter with some fresh garlic in it in a container, then pull out the garlic, put the cubes in and shake to cover. It works great for us since we follow a low salt diet and my hubby doesn't care for heavy garlic. I say spice it to taste and go for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Very tasty basic recipe. I only used half the butter and subbed olive oil for the other half just to make it a little healthier. They came out much better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was an easy recipe and the croutons tasted great! I even ate them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Yum, used a knob of butter and some olive oil. Great used up a left over loaf, will pop in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I was just gifted a loaf of artisan sourdough bread and knew we would never eat it all, especially since Hubs is not a big fan of sourdough anyway. Simply turning it into bread crumbs was an option, but with Thanksgiving on my mind croutons became an inspirational option. Besides, with bread crumbs I was limited - with croutons I still had the grind-them-into-crumbs option. Hubs also doesn't care for croutons on his salad (I could go on and on...) so I knew if I sized them smaller, like the packaged stuffing croutons, I'd have a good and fresher use for them - for stuffed pork chops or chicken, crushed for meatloaf, or as a coating for meat, poultry or fish before baking or frying. I did use the optional garlic salt and wish I hadn't. The croutons were just a tad saltier than I would prefer and will limit me when I mix them up with anything else. I need to remember that no additional salt will be necessary! I also added some poultry seasoning and dried parsley flakes, tho' the seasonings you could use are limited only by your imagination. I froze these in freezer bags so I expect they'll stay fresh a good, long while. There are no words adequate to express the good, fresh taste of these compared to the hard and stale taste of the commercial croutons. They're a little bit of monkeying around, especially if you make them small as I did. But I'll tell you what - I found myself nibbling on these and I just can't see myself doing that with the packaged stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I had half a loaf of rosemary garlic bread that I did not want to go to waste...thankfully I found this recipe, they made THE BEST croutons! I used olive oil instead of butter and some fresh ground pepper. What a versatile recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
The best croutons I've ever had. Very crunchy and I enjoy experimenting with the spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I like this recipe. A great tip is to use a pizza cutter for things like this. Actually, pizza cutters are great for kids to cut up their own food. I used texas toast, butter, onion and garlic powdre, salt and italilian seasoning. Delish !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jane Livengood
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
these turned out great, love making my own! Dark coated baking sheet made them really crispy. I added some italian seasoning on one batch and fresh ground black pepper on another batch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Livengood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I used whole wheat bread and butter flavored cooking spray. Using garlic salt made it too salty so I used garlic powder sprinkled on 1 side of the bread. Then I had tasty, low calorie breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Croutons

Watch Chef John make simple homemade croutons for salads and soups.

Croutons

See how to make simple, inexpensive homemade croutons.

Bluetons (Blue Cheese Croutons)

See how to make croutons with blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States