Croutons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
Super easy, delicious, crouton recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
Easy and good. I used the ends of several loaves, as my family tends to waste those. Stored extras in the freezer 3 months. Thawed quickly and was still crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Thanks for the basic recipe for good croutons. I use my left over gluten free bread - I finally have a way I can have croutons on a salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoAnn
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
I made this with a sourdough cranberry walnut bread. Yum yum! I've made it with leftover hotdog buns as well. Excellant go-to crouton recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Yummy, I will be making these again and again, delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
This is the best, easiest way to make your own croutons. I use it for leftover homemade bread, so I usually have to cube it in advance. We make an artisan loaf that has a fair number of holes throughout. So since it's easier, I melt a little butter with some fresh garlic in it in a container, then pull out the garlic, put the cubes in and shake to cover. It works great for us since we follow a low salt diet and my hubby doesn't care for heavy garlic. I say spice it to taste and go for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Very tasty basic recipe. I only used half the butter and subbed olive oil for the other half just to make it a little healthier. They came out much better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was an easy recipe and the croutons tasted great! I even ate them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Yum, used a knob of butter and some olive oil. Great used up a left over loaf, will pop in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I was just gifted a loaf of artisan sourdough bread and knew we would never eat it all, especially since Hubs is not a big fan of sourdough anyway. Simply turning it into bread crumbs was an option, but with Thanksgiving on my mind croutons became an inspirational option. Besides, with bread crumbs I was limited - with croutons I still had the grind-them-into-crumbs option. Hubs also doesn't care for croutons on his salad (I could go on and on...) so I knew if I sized them smaller, like the packaged stuffing croutons, I'd have a good and fresher use for them - for stuffed pork chops or chicken, crushed for meatloaf, or as a coating for meat, poultry or fish before baking or frying. I did use the optional garlic salt and wish I hadn't. The croutons were just a tad saltier than I would prefer and will limit me when I mix them up with anything else. I need to remember that no additional salt will be necessary! I also added some poultry seasoning and dried parsley flakes, tho' the seasonings you could use are limited only by your imagination. I froze these in freezer bags so I expect they'll stay fresh a good, long while. There are no words adequate to express the good, fresh taste of these compared to the hard and stale taste of the commercial croutons. They're a little bit of monkeying around, especially if you make them small as I did. But I'll tell you what - I found myself nibbling on these and I just can't see myself doing that with the packaged stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Croutons

Watch Chef John make simple homemade croutons for salads and soups.

Croutons

See how to make simple, inexpensive homemade croutons.

Bluetons (Blue Cheese Croutons)

See how to make croutons with blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States