Croutons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I don't give 5 stars when I change the recipe. I used whole wheat bread and butter flavored cooking spray. Using garlic salt made it too salty so I used garlic powder sprinkled on 1 side of the bread. Then I had tasty, low calorie breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Very easy to make and tasty. I sliced them up into larger pieces and my kids ate them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I used this as a jumping off place. Used leftover gluten free sandwich bread, including the end pieces. Cut into cubes first, drizzled with avocado oil, then salt, cracked pepper, and dried thyme. Toasted for about 5 minutes at 410, while toasting my bread for today's sandwich, then 8 minutes longer at 350. They were still a bit soft inside, so I put them back in the oven while it cooled off and left them there for another 30. The thyme smells heavenly in the kitchen and will lend a strong flavor to tomorrow's salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I used the empty bread bag and added the cubed bread. I drizzled the cubes with olive oil, then sprinkled with onion salt, garlic salt, orgegano and marjoram. With the bag puffed with air, I twisted the end and shook it all. Spread on a baking sheet - 300 degrees for 20 minutes. Hint: go easy on the salts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This was super easy. I had some sour dough bread and it made great croutons. I found I needed to cook them for another 5 minutes for them to be the right crunchiness. I went very light on the garlic salt, and I sprinkled on some dried parsley just for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Solid basic recipe. Thanks to OP and other reviewers for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
So easy and good. I added some basil and oregano and substituted olive oil for the butter. Great on top of soups too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I also changed this i think this is a good base iadded onion powder garlic powder paprika dried parsly sprinkled all spices over the cubes then melted butter they are better than any i have ever ate altho they came out too browned an not as dried all the way through so next time i will lower temp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Whenever I have a loaf of nice bread that we don't finish, I freeze it and make croutons for salad or soup. I love to make nice big ones for soup. I add some olive oil too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
This is the best and simplest crouton recipe I have ever made. I will use this one again and again. I have made it three times already using different kinds of bread and they were all fabulous. The first time I made these I used regular white sandwich bread, the second time I used potato bread and the third time I used some stale hamburger buns and all worked equally well. I followed the recipe to a "T" however I left mine in the oven a bit longer than the 15 minutes because I like my croutons fairly brown and crunchy. I use different seasonings each time based on what I feel like using. My favorite is a little garlic salt, onion salt and paprika. YUM!!! This one is definitely a keeper! I will NEVER buy the store bought croutons again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Croutons

Watch Chef John make simple homemade croutons for salads and soups.

Croutons

See how to make simple, inexpensive homemade croutons.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States