Crostini with Mozzarella and Tomato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I keep going back to this and similar recipes for bruschetta and am pretty set on what works best for me. I use Iowa-grown Graddy's or garden-fresh roma tomatoes, fresh basil (chopped or torn), fresh pressed garlic cloves, equal parts balsamic vinegar and quality extra virgin olive oil, and a sprinkle of onion powder, mixed and served cold over warm bread out of the oven. I've tried adding the tomato mixture and baking it altogether in the oven, but the bread can get soggy. So I prefer to spoon the topping on afterward, adding cheese directly to the bread before toasting or finishing by topping with chilled fresh mozzarella. :) About to try it tonight on texas toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Magee, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
so simple but so tasty. i like to make a balsamic reduction to drizzle over the top, which does take this dish over the top. 4 cups balsamic and a 1\4 cup molasses cook down until thick and coat back o spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Took this to a party and everyone loved it. Was the very first thing to be finished by everyone. Very easy to make and very yummy to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
This was delicious! I loved it. It is super easy to make and tastes very authentic like in real Italian restaurants. This would be great to eat as a lunch too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Not a whole lot of discussion or analysis required on this one. It's classic, authentic and delicious. This is like a staple in our house (once crostini is topped with something it becomes bruschetta, and this recipe is your basic bruschetta). We have this often, generally as an appetizer before dinner. No need to measure - top it to your liking. Fresh, good quality ingredients will make or break this treat. Also, the bread can be grilled rather than broiled, on either an indoor or outdoor grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Very easy to make. I use bottled minced garlic, which I mixed in with the tomatoes (fresh from the garden). There is a similar recipe in Bon Appetit from August 2012 that uses fresh oregano and feta in place of the basil and mozzarella. That is also quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
Really liked this very much; we got the expensive imported "ball" mozzarella cheese that's almost white in color from the italian store. It made all the difference. And used garlic salt in lieu of the garlic clove being rubbed. This got RAVE reviews from everyone in the house and is a great evening snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
LOVE It! Love it! Love it! My family had this as a light dinner with fruit and summer sausage. We are definetly going to keep this one! Thanks for a quick and easy recipe that is bursting with flavor. We did add onions to the tomatos and used dried basil, as we didn't have any fresh on hand. Also good with Cavendars Greek Seasoning on the toast before any other toppings go on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Literally I make this every night with dinner. I add sweet onion, salt and extra virgin olive oil and it has to be fresh basil. The garlic rub is the way to go and to make it a little more heated thru, top with the fresh mozzarella and place in oven and melt the cheese all over the tomato mixture. Drizzle olive oil and sprinkle with kosher salt. Yummy!!!! Definitely trying it cold with my family reunion in July!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Was a party hit,easy to make,quick and also used mint leaves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States