Crostini with Mozzarella and Tomato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I actually heated the olive oil on low heat and then added some crushed garlic to it. I usually do about 1/3 cup of oil to 1 tsp of garlic. However, it can be altered, depending upon how strong of a garlic flavor you want. After I heat the oil for 5-7 min, I turn off the heat and remove the garlic pieces. Then, I brush the oil onto the bread. After that, I follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Pluckebaum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Really good. I, too, added a splash of balsamic, which the tomatoes seemed to be begging for. I put the tomatoes on first, topped it with a slice of fresh mozzarella, then popped it all back in the oven to just melt the cheese. This ensured that the tomatoes didn't fall off--they were held in place by the melted cheese. Oh--and I used sliced grape tomatoes because that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
Really liked this very much; we got the expensive imported "ball" mozzarella cheese that's almost white in color from the italian store. It made all the difference. And used garlic salt in lieu of the garlic clove being rubbed. This got RAVE reviews from everyone in the house and is a great evening snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Literally I make this every night with dinner. I add sweet onion, salt and extra virgin olive oil and it has to be fresh basil. The garlic rub is the way to go and to make it a little more heated thru, top with the fresh mozzarella and place in oven and melt the cheese all over the tomato mixture. Drizzle olive oil and sprinkle with kosher salt. Yummy!!!! Definitely trying it cold with my family reunion in July!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I don't really like bread broiled. So I mixed it all up, heaped it on the bread & cooked at 375 for 6-8 min. Perfect, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
LOVE It! Love it! Love it! My family had this as a light dinner with fruit and summer sausage. We are definetly going to keep this one! Thanks for a quick and easy recipe that is bursting with flavor. We did add onions to the tomatos and used dried basil, as we didn't have any fresh on hand. Also good with Cavendars Greek Seasoning on the toast before any other toppings go on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Not a whole lot of discussion or analysis required on this one. It's classic, authentic and delicious. This is like a staple in our house (once crostini is topped with something it becomes bruschetta, and this recipe is your basic bruschetta). We have this often, generally as an appetizer before dinner. No need to measure - top it to your liking. Fresh, good quality ingredients will make or break this treat. Also, the bread can be grilled rather than broiled, on either an indoor or outdoor grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
The flavor was very good. The bread was too hard to bite into to. I will try it again but with extremely fresh, softer bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I keep going back to this and similar recipes for bruschetta and am pretty set on what works best for me. I use Iowa-grown Graddy's or garden-fresh roma tomatoes, fresh basil (chopped or torn), fresh pressed garlic cloves, equal parts balsamic vinegar and quality extra virgin olive oil, and a sprinkle of onion powder, mixed and served cold over warm bread out of the oven. I've tried adding the tomato mixture and baking it altogether in the oven, but the bread can get soggy. So I prefer to spoon the topping on afterward, adding cheese directly to the bread before toasting or finishing by topping with chilled fresh mozzarella. :) About to try it tonight on texas toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Magee, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
Good basic recipe. I used minced garlic and put on top of the olive oil brushed pieces of bread. Next time, I will just incorporate with the tomato mixture. Also, I added a splash of balsamic vinegar, which was nice. I think the bread slices shouldn't be so thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States