Cross Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I just put it all together (minus the olive oil) in the crock pot. After a few hours I was worried how the roast would taste because it didn't smell all that great. Well, after 6 hours on low it was on the table and everyone had second helpings! The meat was tender and not dried out. The gravy was very good over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Very good. I followed the recipe exactly except I couldn't find any golden mushroom soup at the store so I used the wild mushroom soup. I also didn't add the additional three cloves of garlic. It was very tender and the gravy was awesome. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davena

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
great roast and left overs, lots of lovely gravy even without the 3 chemical soup additives, this meat has wonderful flavor of it's own
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Sounded great but as always I altered the recipe. I used a little less mustard, used white wine as I'm not a fan of red, added 1/2 tablespoon of horseradish sauce to paste mixture and about 1/4 cup of ketchup (as I discovered years ago mixing ketchup and mushroom soup is exactly the same as golden mushroom). I also used reduced fat soup, and cooked in my crock pot on low for about 6 1/2 hours for a 3 lb. roast. Remember when cooking in the crock pot reduce liquids by at least a third.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
This roast was so tender and good. The meat shredded easily and we served it over angel hair pasta with the gravy. I think the mustard powder and dijon mustand are important ingredients to the flavor but I might reduce a tad for personal preference next time. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
OK, so my variation was: leave out garlic powder, mustard powder, extra 3 cloves of garlic and red wine. I substituted smokey paprika for regular (used less than the T). Substituted 1 C beef broth, 1 can condensed french onion soup for the dry onion soup and the bouillon cubes. Used regular condensed mushroom soup. A splash of water. I put it all in the crock pot for 8 hours, mostly on medium, part of the time on low. Thickened some of the broth mix for gravy and served with mashed potatoes. The meat was fall apart tender and the broth savory, rated two thumbs up from the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Wasn't our cup of tea. But the recipe is a great one for those that like the tarty mustardy flavor. Sure did smell good cooking! And some folks thought it different and interesting! I plan on trying to use the left over meat and add BBQ sauce to it and see how that works out! Thanks for sharing Cindy B !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
very tasty. easy to cook. my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This was really good. Wasn't sure how the gravy would turn out...with all the garlic, and dry onion mix, but it was absolutely perfect! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I gave this a 3 and my husband gave it a 5. Followed the recipe exactly and it came out ok. My husband really liked it, I found it a bit dry and bland. Maybe my roast wasn't quite 5 lbs though and I also did try and 'slow cook' this in the oven as my slow cooker is broken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States