Croque-Monsieur Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
A true Croque-Monsieur isn't battered....it's a grilled ham & cheese sandwich, covered in a cheese sauce & broiled for a few minutes. While not typical, this version is tasty. I used honey wheat bread & because of reviews syaing the batter was heavy, I copied M.A.H. & used a liberal amount of butter-flavor Pam to fry them in. Hubby didn't think it would work but it did...beautifully! The crust was perfect... not greasy or heavy & they didn't stick although I did use a non-stick saute skillet. I served them w/ Michel Richard’s Cold Cherry Soup, (google the recipe) which was the perfect accompaniment. Thanks for the recipe Teresa Neff...we enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I tried this sandwich, as written, and it was good but a bit too rich for me. Another reviewer called this sandwich a fake, which is wrong. This sandwich can be baked and broiled or fried in a pan, with or without Mornay or Bechamel sauce. Gruyère is traditionally used and is a Swiss cheese, although camembert or brie can be used. The version served with the egg on top is called a "Croque Madame". Made with tomatoes it's a "Croque Provencal," made with Bleu cheese a "Croque Auvergant." So you see, as with any recipe, there are probably as many variations as their are cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
I made this sandwich with sliced turkey breast and provolone. I eliminated the frying part with oil and butter and used butter flavored Pam instead. I also eliminated the salt in the batter. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
I had this sandwich at a Diner off the I75 several years ago and this recipe is exactially what I was looking for. A little messy to make but quite worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
OMG, this was delicious. My only critique would be to eat it right away, or it will 'gell' up on you and not be as good (as with any fried food). I added onions to this and sauted mushrooms in olive oil (evoo to all you chefs out there!). I have been out of the country for about 3 months so I haven't had a chance to make my sandwiches, and I made several on this site before my son and I left. This was the best out of three or four that we tried so it gets rated first! After I unpack...I will be back!!!! To rate more of course....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boonesdaddy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Very Good! Liked it better with mozzarella on sourdough. Made it for dinner with the "Best Ever Hot Artichoke Dip." Available on this site also. Very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WhspringWaterfall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Authentic or not, still mighty tasty sandwich. I don't keep white bread in the house, so I used wheat. I did not use vegetable oil to fry them in, instead I used a little butter in the hot pan. These came out really well--even though it was a bit tricky getting it battered and into the pan and they were a bit greasy. Next time, I'll just cook my sandwiches on the tabletop griddle and skip the extra calories. We had our sandwiches with tomato soup. Nice, comforting lunch. The kids especially liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
My husband loved his but I only ended up eating half of a sandwich. They are very filling and I thought they were greasy and messy. I may try again but not fry in oil and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I love this. It is a great twis on the great American ham and cheese. But so sinfully rich... LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
A bit greasy but very rich and filling. I made it with both Swiss and Provolone. Thanks, Teresa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States